Jans_bl
Formulize / Pageworks /MySQL
  • 2008/1/20 23:43

• Jans_bl

• Just popping in

• Since: 2008/1/20

Hi,

I am rather new to Xoops. Among other modules, I installed Formulize and Pageworks (both 2.3 RC1).
From what I read, it should be great modules. However, I did not find out yet how to use both modules in comination with an existing database.

I have a music database with fields like this:
Artist
Title
Release date
Duration
etc, etc.

It is not the meaning to let the users play, or download, music, but just to get the facts from the database.

So is the combination of Formulize and Pageworks the right tool to get that done?
And if yes, how?

I have downloaded the documentation of 2.3 RC1, but what I need is a good example, so that I can continue with that.

Thanks,
Jans

jegelstaff
Re: Formulize / Pageworks /MySQL

Thanks for your interest in Formulize and Pageworks.

These tools are meant for rapidly creating a new application or database, not for working with one you already have. However, you could create a form (think of it like a table) in Formulize, and then import data from your existing database. You would have to get a spreadsheet copy of the data in your existing database, and make sure the options in the form matched the possible values in each field of your existing database...the information in the Import popup box should guide you.

Let us know how it goes if you pursue this further. Good luck,

--Julian
Technical Architect - Freeform Solutions
Formulize - custom registration forms, ad hoc forms and reports

BlueStocking

TO ALL:
Please Excuse my interruption with the placement of these links but I am working on a possible way to tie conversation past, present and future with the Wiki area so important points of board conversation may be easily found in the future.

Pageworks ~ (discuss this page on the navigation bar at the bottom of the wiki page) Talk:Pageworks

Continue on....

Working....
BlueStocking