janeansylves
Help me get rid of Errors related to Smart Profile

Let me preface this by saying I am a XOOPS newbie. My previous experience with PHP has been installing WordPress or Cube Cart, and snipping out bits of code here and there. I can usually puzzle out what things do, but this one has me stumped. Please bear with me, as this is a long story. Here is the vital information:

XOOPS Version: 2.0.16
Module Name/Version: SmartProfile and Smart Object
PHP Version: 4.4.7
MySQL Version: 4.1.22-standard
Web Server Software (Apache/IIS/Other): Apache 1.3.39 (Unix)
Operating System: Mac OS 10.4.11
Theme you are using: 7dana-soft
Custom template: (Yes/No) No???
PHP Debug Messages: don't know this
MySQL Debug Messages: don't know this
Smarty Debug Messages: don't know this
A full description of the issue:

On a new site I am developing, I want to require new users to include their Location to register. I installed SmartProfile and SmartObject. It didn't work immediately so I started following some tips that someone suggested on the announcement page.

And now when I click on profile, I get

Quote:
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_OBJECT_OPERATOR in /home2/wiki/public_html/modules/smartprofile/userinfo.php on line 85

So I looked at that line:

$fieldids xoops_getmodulehandler('visibility')->getVisibleFields($groups$thisUsergroups);

And I see that it has something to do with the visibility permission that the same person mentioned, so I went back to the admin panel, to the settings for the SmartProfile Module, and I clicked Permissions and dropped down to Visibility and I got

Quote:
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_OBJECT_OPERATOR in /home2/wiki/public_html/modules/smartprofile/admin/visibility.php on line 69

So I looked at that line:

$groups xoops_gethandler('member')->getGroupList();