xoops forums

rgauci

Not too shy to talk
Posted on: 2007/10/16 18:31
rgauci
rgauci (Show more)
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 173
Since: 2007/8/31
#1

xmspotlight image spaced out

I need to space out this image from the text
Resized Image

I am using News v 1.44 and the latest version of xmspotlight. The tag that needs to be check is <news.hometext>

Any ideas???
Be Set FREE!

maxxy

Quite a regular
Posted on: 2007/10/17 4:54
maxxy
maxxy (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 286
Since: 2007/6/11
#2

Re: xmspotlight image spaced out

the easiest way is to put a blank image beside the image

rgauci

Not too shy to talk
Posted on: 2007/10/17 6:43
rgauci
rgauci (Show more)
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 173
Since: 2007/8/31
#3

Re: xmspotlight image spaced out

where do you put that???? As said the image and text comes under the same tag <news.hometext> so I have no clue where to put this in teh template
Be Set FREE!

riceking

Just popping in
Posted on: 2007/10/17 7:58
riceking
riceking (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 16
Since: 2007/9/21
#4

Re: xmspotlight image spaced out

Use css.

rgauci

Not too shy to talk
Posted on: 2007/10/17 8:32
rgauci
rgauci (Show more)
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 173
Since: 2007/8/31
#5

Re: xmspotlight image spaced out

I am using css. Infact i have added this:
.itemBody img {margin:10px; float:right;}
that when you click on Read More the following page and image come out spaced a I wanted. But again this block in xmspotlight I cannot seem to do it even though this module has its own little css file.
Be Set FREE!

rgauci

Not too shy to talk
Posted on: 2007/10/19 10:57
rgauci
rgauci (Show more)
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 173
Since: 2007/8/31
#6

Re: xmspotlight image spaced out

I did manage to space out the image by using this script which I found in this forum.(I did modify it a bit)
<div class="itemBody">
<a href="<a href="<{xoAppUrl /}>modules/news/article.php?storyid=<{$story.id}>"><{$story.imglink}><p class="itemText"><{$story.text}></p></a>
</div>

Now the only problem I need to solve is that the thumbnail image when created, as you know, is aiming to an url of my uploads/thumbs folder.

This is what I want:
1. On clicking the thumbnail it will lead you to the article.

2. In the article page the image shown is that in the thumbs folder, woand not the one in the uploads folder (the one that is created when submitting the article)

What file and links I need to hack???
Be Set FREE!

nachenko

Quite a regular
Posted on: 2007/10/19 11:21
nachenko
nachenko (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 356
Since: 2005/1/18
#7

Re: xmspotlight image spaced out

I think all htis is a template + CSS problem.

Could you write here the URL of the site?

rgauci

Not too shy to talk
Posted on: 2007/10/19 11:39
rgauci
rgauci (Show more)
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 173
Since: 2007/8/31
#8

Re: xmspotlight image spaced out

thanks yes have a look at the site I am working on

Malta sport testing site
Be Set FREE!

nachenko

Quite a regular
Posted on: 2007/10/19 12:01
nachenko
nachenko (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 356
Since: 2005/1/18
#9

Re: xmspotlight image spaced out

Sorry, I'd need to see the template, and I'm gonna disconnect now and won't be back online till monday.

If you can wait, I'm sure it has a very easy solution. Paste here the template, if it's not me, sure someone will be able to help you.

But so to say, if you're using the code you pasted in a earlier post, this tag...

<{$story.imglink}>

Is the problem. This tag contains the IMAGE + the link, a bad idea some XOOPS coder have from time to time. A tag should never contain two items, no matter what they are, link and image should be separated.

Look in the smarty console for a tag that contains only the image, and another one that only contains the link to the article, then edit your template, so

<{$story.imglink}>

becomes

<a href="Link to the article"><{$story.image}></a>


If you don't find any tag that contains only the image, you'll have to go yourself into the code, locate where is <{$story.imglink}> generated (look for "imglink" in the source), then add or modify the code to generate the tag you need.

Good luck.