script_fu
Re: [Module Request] "Car Garage" module (2)

Okay... Marc thanks for the post.

What needs to be done is pick a thread and stay there. I dont want all the precious info and progress to be lost and spread out all over the place.

Now I have a bunch more ideas where this could go. This might even be considered a totally different module.

off topic: Im no coder but I know what I want

Is there anyway to write a module that can hook into different modules yet? Is there modules designed so you can hook data into them already?

brb... Im searching for an older post...

gtop00
  • 2007/7/17 22:33

• gtop00

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2004/11/13

Makes & Models: Some suggestions...

a. Makes
a.1. There is not any reason to pre-load all makes. Since the module could be used internationally, the pre-loaded makes do not practically correspond to the existing in every country.
a.2. There is an ISO standard deals with the coding of the Makes. I'll find it and mail it.
a.3. Proposal: We can pre-load the ISO coded Makes (all) but give the opportunity to the admin to select those he needs.

b. Models
b.1. As said, models is a nightmare... Model per Year, model per country, LHD, RHD models, same model with different name in other countries, auto or man models, 2-4 door models ........ We simply CANNOT pre-load models.
b.2. Give the ability to the db to have a txt field of X characters. The models should be possible to be entered by the admin AND related to the makes.

In both cases, when the db has been created, it will not be possible/easy to export – alter – re-import since those fields will be steady linked with other fields (e.g. auto parts, users, pictures …)

Question (again): For what functionality we are talking about?
Quote:
Up to now, I see these requirements:
- "It allows members to upload photos of their vehicle, review modifications, rate shops, etc etc." (Mudnuts4x4)