iolai
Module repository & themes library suggestions
  • 2007/2/1 12:46

• iolai

• Quite a regular

• Since: 2004/6/26

Hello,

I've developed two XOOPS sites till now, one beinghttp://dune.servint.com, the other ishttp://atomsworld.com.

I don't have a lot of XOOPS knowledge, my PHP is very limited and I don't know much about the script XOOPS uses (smarty?).

I am not a developer - I am a person who wants to run a website.

Module repository
XOOPS has a big module repository, and unfortunately it is a huge mess. A lot of downloads are not located on xoops.org, but on other sites. Some of the downloads that ARE located on xoops.org, are simpy outdated - other websites have a newer version. Other downloads lead to sites in foreign languages.

There are almost no demo modules. I'll describe the process of finding a module I need:
1. I think of what I need the module to be.
2. Go to xoops.org module repository.
3. Find the module by categories.
4. There are usually several modules that promise what I want. I need to download each of them (from other sites, sometimes in foreign language, sometimes with broken links) and install.
5. After I install the module, I need to understand how to use it. Not all modules have explanations, and a lot of them are not user friendly - missing options, bad links, etc.
6. Then I need to test the modules, compare, and choose the one I like.

As you see, the process is too long and complicated. I have a few suggestions for the repository:

1. All the modules should be located on xoops.org. Mirror could be allowed, but the main place to download the module should be xoops.org.
2. Create another installation of xoops, where the modules are already installed. This way one won't have to download the module, install it and then test it - he can do it immediately via a simple link, and see if this is indeed the module he wants.