Talmage
Is XOOPS appropriate for this project?
  • 2007/1/14 5:49

• Talmage

• Just popping in

• Since: 2007/1/14

I am new to working with CMS software but have some amateur knowledge of XHTML, PHP, MySQL, etc. but I decided it was finally time to stop reinventing the wheel for each web site I work on. (This is not a profession, but a hobby.)

I need to build a web site for my family's small business, and have done a lot of work on it already. Most of the site will be static with information about the company and current projects (although I suppose I could make that dynamic too), but he wants an area where clients can log on and see pictures, information, and updates regarding their purchases (vacant lots becoming their new homes). While this could be done with static pages as well (since there are only going to be around 30 clients or so) I want to do this dynamically in case a new operation has many more clients, and also so that a secretary unfamiliar with HTML, etc. can log-on to the system and update indiviual client pages using a simple template. The clients should only be able to see their information (pictures primarily) and not the information of any other client.

I started designing something in PHP and MySQL to do this but I soon discovered it would be a long and time-consuming project. Do you think XOOPS would work here or would some other program be more appropriate? I installed XOOPS yesterday and am trying to experiment with it now. Thanks in advance for your advice.

seolio
Re: Is XOOPS appropriate for this project?
  • 2007/1/14 10:37

• seolio

• Not too shy to talk

• Since: 2005/11/2

First of all, welcome to the XOOPS community!

I have found XOOPS to be very flexible, I have never wanted to do something like this, not sure if it would be easier to create a new group for every person or if there is a module about which could allow you to set different permissions per different user rather than group.