bululin
Fedora 5.0 is there - Is XOOPS compatible
  • 2006/4/13 10:23

• bululin

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2004/6/18

Hi, there
I am new to xoops. I want to install XOOPS on Linux based systems and I knew Fedora core 5.0 just released. Could I use Fedora 5.0 as operating system and install XOOPS as well?

Your opinion is deeply appreciated.

JMorris
Re: Fedora 5.0 is there - Is XOOPS compatible
  • 2006/4/13 12:19

• JMorris

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2004/4/11

As long as FC 5 runs a compatible version of Apache, PHP, and MySQL, there shouldn't be a problem.

XOOPS relys on the three above programs, not the operating system.

Hope that helps.

James

Note: Title edited for clarity.
Insanity can be defined as "doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results."

Stupidity is not a crime. Therefore, you are free to go.

bululin
  • 2006/4/14 3:00

• bululin

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2004/6/18

Could anyone specify which version of PHP, mySQL, and APache should I use?

Again, your answer is greatly appreciated.

gediminasbyt

Bululin:

Yes FC5 is released and there is nothing incompatible there with xoops, it has apache2 php5 myslq4 and other things that I had tested almost a year ago on FC4 with testing new releases. Personally I don't like FC5 especially when there are hundreds of things that are broken... There is the end in fedoras especially when redhat decided to take development inhouse...

So the short answer is you will be able to use FC5 with XOOPS as long the modules do not fail completely if used in php5. (I have not used any module that would fail miserabely on php5 only some notifs)

Good luck!

JMorris
  • 2006/4/14 3:22

• JMorris

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2004/4/11

In the archive you downloaded, there should have been a docs/ directory with a file called INSTALL.html. This was one of the first things listed in that file.