activenine
Module Un/Installation Procedure Problems
  • 2005/6/13 1:32

• activenine

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/6/13

Hello,

I am currently working on a module and am fairly new to using XOOPS for it, but I have a lot of PHP experience.

Basically, I have followed the file structure formats as prodvided in the Dev Wiki and the SQL is successfully run, but there are some odd things happening...

Rather than showing the steps of the installation after I click Install similar to say the Polls module installation, it just shows a blank screen (same thing for uninstallation). Then I navigate back to the module admin and the module isn't appearing in the menu even though I set it to. It does show up as installed in the list though.

What's really odd (to me at least) is that as soon as I install a different module after mine, both appear in the admin menu fine and everything.

Some background on my module since I think xoops_version.php is the only thing other than mysql.sql really used during my module's installation:
- Using the basic name, version, description, etc. fields
- Using onInstall and onUninstall which link to separate files with the functions xoops_module_install_mymodule and xoops_module_uninstall_mymodule respectively (note: when I put a debug echo command in, the install/uninstall procedures were still blank pages)
- Using the SQL and tables fields
- Using the default hasAdmin and admin files fields

I just don't get why there's a blank screen and why the module only shows up in the menu when another module is installed afterward. Could someone please help me?

Any help is much appreciated...

Thanks.

jdseymour
Re: Module Un/Installation Procedure Problems

Did it read your SQL files and insert them in the database?

Usually this is what is listed, table creation, template insertion, and any set group permissions.

I am not a programmer but this is what I usually see on the install page or when updating.

activenine
  • 2005/6/13 2:47