salut_kathi
3 questions: change language (eng/ger) ... ?!
  • 2005/3/25 9:13

• salut_kathi

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/3/25

Hi guys!
As a beginner I have no idea but 3 questions:

i would like to have an english part with the most important info (e.g. FAQ) in my german spaeking homepage...

in articles it never takes font/size/colour, they always stay the same...

many pages have this introduction page, with just a logo and perhaps some text, where you have to click on to reach the main page. is that possible with xoops?!

any suggestions?
thanx a lot,
kathi

JasonMR
Re: 3 questions: change language (eng/ger) ... ?!
  • 2005/3/25 10:16

• JasonMR

• Just can't stay away

• Since: 2004/6/21

Salut Kathi!

First of, I like the topic of your page, will take a closer look later on

zu 1)

There are different Multi-Language methods available, of which the first in the list is, as far as I know and have experienced, the most 'workable'

- XOOPS Multilanguages 1.4.4

- GIJOE's Easy Multi-Language Hack

- xLanguage

Note: make sure you read the instructions carefully!

zu 2)

Could you be a little more specific? Which module are you refering to? How are they not changing (why do you expect them to change)?

Though, you can always look at the source code of an article page, and check if there are any style classes used with the articles, and change them in your stylesheets (if this helps).

All font related settings are controlled by CSS styles, which you will find in your themes stylesheet (most commenly style.css).

Some modules have their own stylesheets, which you can find in the module folder.

zu 3)

It is possible, but not advisable. Users are content-hungry, and want to reach their goal (be fed with info), as quickly as possible. An introduction page is often viewed as an obsticle, wich causes a subtle frustration.