krystinevo
WebSphere & Xoops, feedback requested

I work for a non-profit association with 7,000+ members. We're currently in the process of evaluating our extranet and we'd like to take it to the next level of making it a more collaborative/interactive site.

For those of you who have worked with both XOOPS and WebSphere, is there anything that XOOPS can't do that WebSphere can?

I've read with interest the post started by Draven back in October and have also checked out the CMS Matrix.

Because we're a non-profit, money is always an issue and I know WebSphere doesn't come cheap. What I'm trying to determine is if WebSphere offers something that would compel our organization to spend that kind of money and choose it over Xoops.

I am not a programmer, so attempting to sift through this information on my own is pretty futile.

Any insight any of you could give me on this would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Kristine

carnuke
Re: WebSphere & Xoops, feedback requested
  • 2005/1/30 18:52

• carnuke

• Home away from home

• Since: 2003/11/5

Kristine, This would be a difficult question to answwer unless a user was familiar with both CMS feature sets, which I am not.

Unless someone here can make a comparrisson between the two, it's really up to you to define the features and functions that are important to you and the organisation, then acertain if XOOPS or Webspere supply the goods.

Why not post a feature requirements list here, then we can comment more easily

Richard

carnuke
  • 2005/1/30 19:14

• carnuke

• Home away from home

• Since: 2003/11/5

I just went through matrix cms comparrison list between XOOPS and webspere.

The feature list is out of date (at least foe XOOPS and uses 2.0.6 as the reference)

Here are some changes that I would pont out are incorrect on matrix CMS
------------------------------------------------------

WebSpere EIP 8.1 compared to XOOPS 2.0.6

Help Desk / Bug Reporting Costs Extra No (yes, xhelp module)