C1Team
Total Newbie here, Easy question!
  • 2005/1/25 1:43

• C1Team

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/1/25

I looked and im sorry if there is a posted answer but I cant find if I can use XOOPS with my cox webspace.

I have a cox webspace and Dreamweaver MX will these things work to make a site with Xoops?

Thanks

RachelVirago
Re: Total Newbie here, Easy question!

Hi

Just started myself and not familiar with your ISP but what it comes down to is if you have msql and php on your shared server. Next issue is likely to be what graphics suite they are running (if you want to run galleries).

Easiest way to find out is to go to the PHP homepage, get phpinfo.php file, upload it then point your web browser at it. This should give you (most of) info U need.

rgds + good luck

RachelVirago

Hate to tell you this but I just pointed idserve (www.grc.com) at your ISP and got the following:-

Initiating server query ...
Looking up IP address for domain: www.cox.com
The IP address for the domain is: 24.248.73.200
Connecting to the server on standard HTTP port: 80
[Connected] Requesting the server's default page.
The server returned the following response headers:
HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Connection: close
Date: Tue, 25 Jan 2005 02:25:47 GMT
Server: Microsoft-IIS/6.0
X-Powered-By: ASP.NET
Content-Length: 34669
Content-Type: text/html
Set-Cookie: ASPSESSIONIDACBQRQCS=BFABNOHCJNNLMFCMHBDNBFMD; path=/

What all this means is that they are microsoft people, it is possible to run XOOPS on this platform (I believe) but it's a whole different can of messy worms and you are not likely to find (as) much support on the forums.

Off course I may be wrong, your particular web space may be on Linux. To find out get ID serve from grc and query your site/space.

http://www.ubergeek.tv/article.php?pid=54

C1Team
  • 2005/1/25 2:17

• C1Team

• Just popping in