intel352
Re: Bragging about my multisite modifications :-)
  • 2004/12/16 13:43

• intel352

• Module Developer

• Since: 2003/11/23

hrmm... something like that might be doable. i'll keep that in mind while i work on this

Brice
  • 2004/12/16 23:42

• Brice

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/11/29

Quote:

bd_csmc wrote:
hrmm... something like that might be doable. i'll keep that in mind while i work on this

Hi bd_csmc,

Great!

I am not a good programmer, but I can be a beta tester and contribute about documentation how to use this module.

Cheers,

Brice

Wheeler
  • 2004/12/17 16:45

• Wheeler

• Not too shy to talk

• Since: 2004/10/29

Quote:
My need is to provide a registered user with a certain right or priviledge to create simply a new site ( with subdomaine name and or a specific domain name) just by clicking and filling a form.

Like a simple 'free host'? Automation is always better.

Quote:
I am not a good programmer, but I can be a beta tester and contribute about documentation how to use this module.

Dudes, I am in as well. I have nothing better to do with my massive hosting account (or until my site is launched).

Thanx again!

intel352
  • 2004/12/20 6:40

• intel352

• Module Developer

UPDATE:

okay, i'm developing multisites with 2 main thoughts:

1. a site admin would want this capability, to easily clone sites and reduce administration worries

2. each site wouldn't necessarily need unique data, so in my own use, i'm implementing small modifications to modules and their database tables, referencing a 'sid' value (site id), the site id is defined in each site's mainfile.

when i originally developed my multisite mod, i followed the same line of thinking that already existed, which meant that a ton of database tables were getting replicated, which in practice, seemed a bit useless to me. i also still had the same problems with administrating multiple sites, since in many ways, the sites were still separate.