1
Firestarter
Adding a link to main menu
  • 2004/11/28 20:21

  • Firestarter

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 5

  • Since: 2004/11/28


hi i wanted to add a link to the main menu and dont know how.. :)
its not a link to an existing module ..

2
carnuke
Re: Adding a link to main menu
  • 2004/11/28 20:46

  • carnuke

  • Home away from home

  • Posts: 1955

  • Since: 2003/11/5


Open /modules/system/templates/blocks/system_block_mainmenu.html in your editor, and just place the link to the page you want added to the main menu.

Here is an example:
<table cellspacing="0">
<
tr>
<
td id="mainmenu">
<
class="menuTop" href="<{$xoops_url}>/"><{$block.lang_home}></a>
<!-- 
start module menu loop -->
<{foreach 
item=module from=$block.modules}>
<
class="menuMain" href="<{$xoops_url}>/modules/<{$module.directory}>/"><{$module.name}></a> <{foreach item=sublink from=$module.sublinks}>
<
class="menuSub" href="<{$sublink.url}>"><{$sublink.name}></a
<{/foreach}>
<{/foreach}>
<!-- 
end module menu loop -->
<
class="menuMain" href="<{$xoops_url}>/">yourtext</a>
</
td> </tr>
</
table>

Edit this line <a class="menuMain" href="<{$xoops_url}>/">yourtext</a> with your url and link text

add as many as you like.

Note: if you call a URL within the XOOPS website it will open within the XOOPS frame. External links open in a new page, not in the XOOPS frame.

3
Firestarter
Re: Adding a link to main menu
  • 2004/11/28 20:57

  • Firestarter

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 5

  • Since: 2004/11/28


Ty VERY MUCH :)
and one more thing
u kno theres main menu and one more menu after the logo (with home news forum.. ) so how to change the forum link there?

Ow and one more thing i enter all and the link works good but how do i save that new code? do i take the file and than re-upload it or there is a way to save directly from xoops?

4
DMCC1
Re: Adding a link to main menu
  • 2004/11/30 13:12

  • DMCC1

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 3

  • Since: 2004/11/8


carnuke...

I must be missing something... I added a link to the menu, when I click on it, it opens - but, not within the XOOPS frame. Just replaces the XOOPS page. Is there something more I should be adding to the source code of the link?

5
karedokx
Re: Adding a link to main menu
  • 2004/11/30 14:24

  • karedokx

  • Quite a regular

  • Posts: 319

  • Since: 2004/7/1 6


the suggested approach will produce a link at the bottom of the main menu.

what i'm after is to put the link at the middle of my main menu. unfortunately there is no easy way to achieve that?

using the multimenu module is not solving the problem too, as it can only produce the menu in a new block - correct me if i'm wrong (would be great actually if there is a menu module that can produce a menu inside the main menu (the position of the menu is defined based on the weight of the module). is it available?

thanks for the feedback.

6
Firestarter
Re: Adding a link to main menu
  • 2004/11/30 19:00

  • Firestarter

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 5

  • Since: 2004/11/28


:( it doesnt work i mean i do it through XOOPS than press view the link and it works... but after its not displayed on the site. I try to upload through ftp with changed code, it makes overwrite. and (still through xoops) i see the code without my link (even after uploading through FTP)

7
solo71
Re: Adding a link to main menu
  • 2004/12/1 15:46

  • solo71

  • Module Developer

  • Posts: 941

  • Since: 2003/1/29


Don't forget to update the "system" module.


8
Firestarter
Re: Adding a link to main menu
  • 2004/12/1 21:01

  • Firestarter

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 5

  • Since: 2004/11/28


Quote:

solo71 wrote:
Don't forget to update the "system" module.



HOW ?^^

9
jmass
Re: Adding a link to main menu
  • 2004/12/1 21:28

  • jmass

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 524

  • Since: 2003/12/18


You can create a "dummy module" and load it. The xoops_version.php can direct the main menu link to where you want. I went this route for some time, but then decided that it was a lot of maintence.


To update the system module go to system - modules - and reload the system module like any other module.

10
Firestarter
Re: Adding a link to main menu
  • 2004/12/2 15:45

  • Firestarter

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 5

  • Since: 2004/11/28


Thnx very much now evrything works good :)

Login

Who's Online

132 user(s) are online (101 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 132


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: May 31
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits