Anonymous
Module (Animal)Pedigree, is it worth upgrading?
  • 2013/3/3 16:45

• Anonymous

• Since:

The xoops module Animalpedigree was developed some years ago in the Netherlands. It is still used by many clubs of dog breeders to maintain a database with pedigree info.

In the past it was a module you had to pay for but it looks like the original developer has given it to the community.

On nlxoops there where several support requests about this module, I have seen them also on xoops.org, frxoops and the German Xoops support site. So I guess it is worth to adopt this module as a community and update it to current Xoops standards and the new module admin.

I am not a coder so would like a ‘guru’ to look at it this module. Is it a huge job to bring this module up to current standards? On my webserver I only get blank pages (xoops 2.5.5 or php incompatibility?)

Animalpedigree can be seen in action here, here and here. But is used on many xoops sites all over the world.

The module can be downloaded here

Mamba
Re: Module (Animal)Pedigree, is it worth upgrading?
  • 2013/3/3 18:21

• Mamba

• Since: 2004/4/23

If it is a popular module, then we definitely should update it!

Is there anywhere a tutorial on how to use this module in more details?

I kind of found my way around it, but it would be easier to have a clear tutorial in English. For example, there are bunch of search fields on your demo sides, but in my installation I have only one search field. How do we add them?

It seems like everything is done on the front end, with no Admin side at all. Should we change it to make it more consistent with other XOOPS modules?

One problem that I see already is that it doesn't run on PHP 5.4, as it uses "import_request_variables" which is removed in PHP 5.4, so we would have to look for a way to rewrite it, probably with "extract". But on PHP 5.3 it seems to be OK.

Do we have actual users here on the forums?

Support XOOPS => DONATE
Use 2.5.10 | Docs | Modules | Bugs