xoops forums

Mamba

Moderator
Posted on: 2013/1/15 3:03
Mamba
Mamba (Show more)
Moderator
Posts: 10968
Since: 2004/4/23
#1

XOOPS 2.6.0 Alpha 2 released for Testing

The XOOPS Core Team is pleased to present the Alpha 2 release of XOOPS 2.6.0

Please report all issues, bugs, etc. in this forum.

Resized Image

This is a brand new XOOPS series, with several major changes and enhancements to the Core.

You can review the current XOOPS 2.6.0 Roadmap here

We wish you happy testing!

[EDIT]

1) Please note that the minimum PHP version is 5.3

2) If you describe a bug, please ALWAYS state your PHP and MySQL version.
Support XOOPS => DONATE
Use 2.5.10 | Docs | Modules | Bugs

irmtfan

Module Developer
Posted on: 2013/1/15 4:55
irmtfan
irmtfan (Show more)
Module Developer
Posts: 3419
Since: 2003/12/7
#2

Re: XOOPS 2.6.0 Alpha 2 released for Testing

Thank you all especially core team.
because it is alpha i have some points to mention.

1- userconfigs module is very good place to move all user configurations. it seems it is "module base" but IMO some configs are overall. eg: umode and uorder are for the whole website like comments, forum, ...

2- There would be excellent if some designers can provide a very simple and understandable tutorial/document of "creating themes/templates using bootstrap css framework in XOOPS 2.6" for some people that dont have experiences like me.

3- Xoops_Highlighter class is good but it is better to have the option to define different unique class for each keyword. Now it is still hardcoded to one color.
eg:
<span class="highlighter term0">key1</spanbla bla <span class="highlighter term1">key2</spansome bla bla <span class="highlighter term2">key3</spanbla bla

i add the above in newbb.
as you can see my other points are feature requests and i prefer to not write about them here.

irmtfan

Module Developer
Posted on: 2013/1/15 7:37
irmtfan
irmtfan (Show more)
Module Developer
Posts: 3419
Since: 2003/12/7
#3

Re: XOOPS 2.6.0 Alpha 2 released for Testing

ok. I add a news in persian local site (take 2 hours!!):
http://www.xoops.ir/modules/news/article.php?storyid=419

I wish we could have a live demo. (better if it can be updated with new svn changes)

I explained more about the new plugin system that Trabis presented.

IMO it is a very good feature for module developers.


demented

Just popping in
Posted on: 2013/1/15 9:37
demented
demented (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 40
Since: 2008/3/24
#4

Re: XOOPS 2.6.0 Alpha 2 released for Testing

When Using Menus Iget this error

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_PAAMAYIM_NEKUDOTAYIM in /home/content/s/c/a/scaremaster/html/test/xoops_lib/Xoops/Module/Helper.php on line 41

sabahan

Quite a regular
Posted on: 2013/1/15 10:53
sabahan
sabahan (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 317
Since: 2006/3/4 5
#5

Re: XOOPS 2.6.0 Alpha 2 released for Testing

just some language issue

I noticed in install.html in extras folder...installed locally and hosted platform instruction have the same step...

for local...use http://localhost ?

Quote:

Installing locally
If you are running a local environment for development or testing, make sure that you have the previous requirements met. Once this is done, copy the contents of the htdocs directory (from the XOOPS distribution file or SVN) to the root document path of your web environment. Once the files are copied there, you can start the install by typing "http://yoursite.com". This will start the install process.

Installing on a hosted platform
If you are running in a hosted environment, unpack the XOOPS files locally or on the server if you have telnet or SSH access. Once you done this, make sure to move or copy all XOOPS files from the htdocs directory to your root web directory (your provider usually provides this location with directions). Once the files are copied there, you can start the install by typing "http://yoursite.com". This will start the install process.


sabahan

Quite a regular
Posted on: 2013/1/15 11:07
sabahan
sabahan (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 317
Since: 2006/3/4 5
#6

Re: XOOPS 2.6.0 Alpha 2 released for Testing

a. pm module display problem

Resized Image

b. missing screenshot image in system module themes block

Resized Image

c. just asking is it normal ..now in default other system blocks is only viewable by webmaster.. ?

D. link of Codex module is in user menu and also main menu...
btw..Can the codex have layout like the user configs ? with drop down..it will be better

e. Popup windows width for site info recommend us to small Resized Image

Viva XOOPS...Congrats to all...especially the core team

timgno

Module Developer
Posted on: 2013/1/15 11:40
timgno
timgno (Show more)
Module Developer
Posts: 1504
Since: 2007/6/21
#7

Re: XOOPS 2.6.0 Alpha 2 released for Testing

Test in progress with the modules and extensions:

- TDMCreate 2.01
- xTransam 1.30
- PassGen 2.01

If you have any messages for these modules or suggestions, please specify it in this thread, or if necessary it will be created a specific thread

tatane

Just can't stay away
Posted on: 2013/1/15 15:06
tatane
tatane (Show more)
Just can't stay away
Posts: 649
Since: 2008/5/6 1
#8

Re: XOOPS 2.6.0 Alpha 2 released for Testing

Hello
I just put up on my local server the new version. My first test was the implementation of the menu module to see how it was displayed. Is there something to add to the theme for displaying menus created ?

Resized Image


Resized Image


Resized Image

timgno

Module Developer
Posted on: 2013/1/15 15:30
timgno
timgno (Show more)
Module Developer
Posts: 1504
Since: 2007/6/21
#9

Re: XOOPS 2.6.0 Alpha 2 released for Testing

Can not display block xLanguage

Mamba

Moderator
Posted on: 2013/1/15 15:43
Mamba
Mamba (Show more)
Moderator
Posts: 10968
Since: 2004/4/23
#10

Re: XOOPS 2.6.0 Alpha 2 released for Testing

Tatane, thanks for testing!

1) The menu will not show up on top there, where you expected it. The button "Home" is just for reference there, and I don't believe, it's part of any menu.

2) Menus show up in blocks. On the right top, you have a link to blocks:

Resized Image


3) From there, you can activate the block, and set its position:

Resized Image


Unfortunately, on my installation, it seems like there is a bug there, i.e. the MainMenu block is working fine, but not the "Menu Block". We'll need to investigate it.
Support XOOPS => DONATE
Use 2.5.10 | Docs | Modules | Bugs