mutley8
Username & Password HACK
  • 2012/3/23 20:07

• mutley8

• Just popping in

• Since: 2012/3/23

I have been using xoops for several years on hobby sites, last year I started using xoops as a backend for my business website www.eurodirectrentals.com, as a security thing I added a little code to a page so when my clients edit their details I get an automated email, today I got several in a short space of time which is unusual...
On checking the details I noticed that the clients original emails had been replaced with a 'free' gmx.com email address....
The clients original password has not changed (I have a backup of passwords for reference).

As yet I am stumpped as to how this has happened, any light would be good as I have had to close the backend until I get to the bottom of this issue.
Currently using 2.4.4

Thanks in advance

redheadedrod
Re: Username & Password HACK

Have you contacted any of those customers and ask if they have had anything strange happen?

What modules do you have installed?

It is possible you have an unsecure module on your system that somehow allowed a hacker access to your database. This is not necessarily a xoops issue but we can start there.

And what have you modified in your system?

You may want to upgrade to 2.4.5 and make sure you have the protector module installed if you don't already.

Attending College working towards Bachelors in Software Engineering and Network Security.

mutley8
  • 2012/3/24 9:38

• mutley8

• Just popping in

Hi redheadedrod, thx for the quick reply, firstly I don't think it is a xoops issue, I have several hobby sites for flight sim enthusiasts & other sites constructed for friends all of which use xoops as the core, none of these have ever been 'attacked'.

I have checked some of the passwords used by my clients in an md5 hack tool which unfortunately reveals their passwords correctly, that said the 'attacker' must also have the clients username to be able to log in, this is where I am stumpped.