diggerSS
Configuration settings impacting speed
  • 2010/12/31 22:59

• diggerSS

• Just popping in

• Since: 2009/10/20

I am relatively new to Xoops, and have set up two sites. Once works well, the other is slow (12 seconds to load first page.)

I have looked for a "best practices" (or items to avoid) which impact speed. The setup screens do a good job of inidcating settings and implications, but was hoping to find a quick ckeck-list of the stupid things I may have done which would cause the system to run slow.

Both my sites are base on Xoops 2.4.4 and use the Contents (1.32) Module.

The site which runs fast is running on Dreamhost.com on Linux; the one running slow is on Web.com on a Windows system. Both run PHP 5.x

The slow one has:
- cache set to 1 day or more in blocks and system-wide settings
- GZip enabled
- recompile templates = false
- persist connection for mysql = yes

I has tried a number of modules (AMS 3, ArchContact.1. ContactUs .8, Edito 2.31, iMenu 3.1, Liase 1.23, MultiMenu 1.74, News 1.64) which have all been disabled and uninstalled.

I am using MySQL 5.0.77; besides xoops_config and xoops_group_permissions, no table has more than 50 records. the entire DB.

The regular HTML pages and non-xoops pages are served up promptly.

Using debug, I have no errors- just a slow load as follows:
Timers
XOOPS took 12.436 seconds to load.
XOOPS Boot took 2.595 seconds to load.
Module init took 0.665 seconds to load.
XOOPS output init took 7.517 seconds to load.
Module display took 0.063 seconds to load.
Page rendering took 1.274 seconds to load.

I am using default theme; the main page has only 8 blocks, with nothing fancy - just text. (I tried to disable half of these and it did help a little, but the blocks was one of the main advantages for moving to xoops.) I have only a samll graphic at the top and a logo on the page. I used Speed Test (http://www.indeep76.com/) which indicates the image load are not a problem.