waylock
Understanding Relationships of the common Xoops objects
  • 2008/3/7 4:33

• waylock

• Just popping in

• Since: 2008/3/7 3

I am new to Xoops. Thus far, have got the basic site up and running. I've added some modules but haven't really gotten very far on content. I've spent the last week reading through the forums, trying different settings, looking at various XOOPS sites, but I feel that I'm missing a basic foundation to the relationship of everything in Xoops. I am a novice with respects to web development.

Goal: I want to use XOOPS to help me build a website for my small business. Initally, I want to be able to use the space as a way to develop the content and copy. Then I'll graduate into the more advance but fun features offered like wiki's, blogs, form and eventually a small webstore perhaps.

If someone could help lead me in the right direction, I would greatly appreciate it.

1. Text - I've created a module and just added some text to it and go it to show up in the center-topcenter location, just beneath the banner. How does one take it to the next step in creating the content of multiple pages of a given website?

2. If I wanted to add a basic menu bar across the top of my site, just beneath the banner, how would I do that. I've installed the multimenu module, but I'm not getting very far.

3. On the Home Page, I'm trying to achieve a design where the page has a My Corp Banner at the top, a menu bar like in #2 and then the page will be divide into 3 columns with 3 menus as headings for each of the colums. There will be text in the top (under the menu)of each column and then links (to other pages) for my various offered services or products, depending on the column. How can I create this in Xoops? There is a very bad static example of what I'm trying to create for my home page at TINCG Under Construction.