1
Anonymous
"Mind the gap...........mind the gap"
  • 2007/10/19 17:07

  • Anonymous

  • Posts: 0

  • Since:


This has been bugging me for while and I keep forgetting to ask:

"Why is the gap between centre-left and centre-right blocks on a typical XOOPS homepage bigger than all the other gaps between the blocks elsewhere on the page?"

Seems to be theme-independent, i.e. they all do it

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

TIA

2
Will_H
Re: "Mind the gap...........mind the gap"
  • 2007/10/19 17:21

  • Will_H

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 1786

  • Since: 2004/10/10


its just padding.

Usually people will just use the same padding like they did everywhere else, instead of splitting the difference.

You can fix this by looking at the div.'s for each column and adjusting your left-right padding.

3
Anonymous
Re: "Mind the gap...........mind the gap"
  • 2007/10/19 17:52

  • Anonymous

  • Posts: 0

  • Since:


Quote:
Will_H wrote:

You can fix this by looking at the div.'s for each column and adjusting your left-right padding.


Don't you mean top-bottom padding?

Thanks

4
Will_H
Re: "Mind the gap...........mind the gap"
  • 2007/10/19 18:45

  • Will_H

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 1786

  • Since: 2004/10/10


Quote:

centre-left and centre-right


if your block layout is

CL CR

its right-left but yes you would still probably wanna pad a little on top-bottom

it its

CL
CR

its top bottom

Your question seemed like it was asking about just these.

However, if I am understanding your question now, you are asking why the big gap between

TCL TCR
<--Here-->
BCL BCR

<--Here--> is where your <$xoops_contents}> are, and I am not sure of a way to only call the xoops_contents if and only if there is content to be displayed.

So the answer to your question is, there is essentially empty space when there is no content.

perhaps we could figure out a way to fix this...

maybe

<{if $xoops_contents}>
<div id="content">
<{$xoops_contents}>
</div>
<{/if}>

yep, that fixed that.

cool.

5
Anonymous
Re: "Mind the gap...........mind the gap"
  • 2007/10/19 18:58

  • Anonymous

  • Posts: 0

  • Since:


hi,

Sorry - I didn't make myself clear. I'm talking about the centre column and this specifically

TC
TCL TCR
<--this gap here-->
BC
BCL BCR

Quote:
Will_H wrote:

<{if $xoops_contents}>
<div id="content">
<{$xoops_contents}>
</div>
<{/if}>


Where does this code go? Like erm.... exactly where? Does all of this replace <{$xoops_contents}> in theme.html? Does something need to be added to the .css file?

Thanks for your help

6
Will_H
Re: "Mind the gap...........mind the gap"
  • 2007/10/19 19:01

  • Will_H

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 1786

  • Since: 2004/10/10


This is actually really freaking cool!

great post man, because now we can actually graphically frame in our content without having the empty frame on the index! sweet!

<{if $xoops_contents}>
<table>
<tr>
<td top of frame>
</tr>
<tr>
<td leftside of frame>
<div id="content">
<{$xoops_contents}>
</div>
<td right side of frame>
</tr>
<tr>
<td bottom of frame>
</tr>
</table>
<{/if}>

so nice...

7
Will_H
Re: "Mind the gap...........mind the gap"
  • 2007/10/19 19:03

  • Will_H

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 1786

  • Since: 2004/10/10


just wrap your <{$xoops_contents}> in that <{if}> statement

you probably have

<div id="content">
<{
$xoops_contents}>
</
div>


Because this is what was in the default theme

replace that with

<{if $xoops_contents}>
<
div id="content">
<{
$xoops_contents}>
</
div>
<{/if}>

8
Anonymous
Re: "Mind the gap...........mind the gap"
  • 2007/10/19 19:08

  • Anonymous

  • Posts: 0

  • Since:


Thanks Will - that's exactly what I have, I'll try it

Fantastically quick help, fella - much appreciated

9
Will_H
Re: "Mind the gap...........mind the gap"
  • 2007/10/19 19:11

  • Will_H

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 1786

  • Since: 2004/10/10


No problem, don't forget to clear your templates_c after you save the new content code.

10
Anonymous
Re: "Mind the gap...........mind the gap"
  • 2007/10/20 7:06

  • Anonymous

  • Posts: 0

  • Since:


Quote:
Will_H wrote:

replace that with

<{if $xoops_contents}>
<
div id="content">
<{
$xoops_contents}>
</
div>
<{/if}>


Just to confirm that this works like a charm

Such a small change makes quite a difference....... should this become a standard bit of code in most (if not all) themes?

Login

Who's Online

187 user(s) are online (116 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 187


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Apr 30
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits