krauh
Tar.gz Files
  • 2005/8/15 15:10

• krauh

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/2/25

Zipped modules are easy to upload to a website after unpacking with winzip you just ftp the modules main folder.
My question is how do you upload modules that are done with a tar.gz?Winzip unpacks everything so there arent any main folders with the files neatly places in the correct order within.What do you do?

I'm new to this so explain it like i'm a caveman ok
Trying to use Xcgallery module to be exact.

Or point me to a place where theres a tutorial on this please and thanks.

Peekay
Re: Tar.gz Files
  • 2005/8/15 15:36

• Peekay

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2004/11/20

On my PC, I open winzip, select Open Archive and select the tar.gz. It normally says "archive contains one file, should winzip create a temporary folder and decomress it?" I say yes. You should see a list of files appear in winzip window.

Then select Actions/Extract. For safety's sake (so you don't wind up with a hundred files on your desktop) I create a temporary folder and select that as the destination. Ensure 'Use folder names' is ticked.

Some developers bury the actual module folder several layers deep, so mymodule124.tar.gz could extract to mytemporaryfolder/mymodule 1.24/html/mymodule. The last folder is the one to upload to the modules directory. It should contain a xoops_version file.

Actually, extracting tar.gz files using winzip is good, 'cos it automatically strips out erroneous line feed characters in PHP files that have been created with Linux and Mac text editors.
A thread is for life. Not just for Christmas.

mboyden
  • 2005/8/15 15:47

• mboyden

• Since: 2005/3/9 1

A couple of things to note. If you unzip the files on your desktop and then upload them to your server, they may not have the proper permissions. Better to put on your server the archive file and then unzip and untar it there. It will make life easier.