JBzh
Xoops Debian package
  • 2005/4/25 9:24

• JBzh

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/4/26

Hello,

I wonder if someone is working on making a .deb package for Xoops. As I use XOOPS professionnaly on a Debian server, I would find it very usefull.
Maybe I could help, even if I'm quite new to Debian (few monthes) ?

Regards,
Jean Coiron

JMorris
Re: Xoops Debian package
  • 2005/4/25 11:33

• JMorris

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2004/4/11

Being a fellow Linux user, I fail to understand the need for a binary package. It only takes four commands to download, extract, and place all the files where they need to be.

The following assumes that your html root is in the default location for Apache:
[user@host ~]$ cd /var/www/html/
[
user@host html]$ wget http://switch.dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/xoops/Xoops-2.0.10.tar.gz
[user@host html]$ tar xvzf Xoops-2.0.10.tar.gz
[user@host html]$ mv htmldesired_name/
~OR~
[
user@host html]$ mv html/* ./

If four commands take too long, make a script called getxoops.sh. Place the following in your script and chmod the file to 755.
#!/bin/bash
wget http://switch.dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/xoops/Xoops-2.0.10.tar.gz
tar xvzf Xoops-2.0.10.tar.gz
mv html
/* ./
echo "XOOPS Download Complete"

Then just copy the script into the desired target directory and execute it with
[user@host target_dir]$ ./getxoops.sh

Hope this helps*/

JBzh
  • 2005/4/25 12:56

• JBzh

• Just popping in

Actually I was thinking of dependancies : if you don't have PHP5 you can choose to install the last PHP4 version of Xoops' .deb, for instance.
I reckon It would be a good thing to include XOOPS in the Debian project like phpMyAdmin and phpgroupware are.

JBzh
  • 2005/5/2 15:08

• JBzh

• Just popping in

Actually someone's already working on it, and the package is avaliable athttp://www.vmxt.com/debian/ for testing purpose.

Regards,
Jean Coiron

JelleB
  • 2006/1/4 16:04

• JelleB

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/1/4 1

Quote:

JMorris wrote: