brash
Sub Categories in Image Manager?
  • 2004/11/20 22:56

• brash

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2003/4/10

Hi All,

Just womdering if anyone had come up with a hack so that you can have sub categories in the Image Manager? I plan to have a lot of articles, and a lot of them are going to have images, so unless I find a way of organising them better then it is going to be very messy.

tsoeiro
Re: Sub Categories in Image Manager?
  • 2004/12/3 12:52

• tsoeiro

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/12/3

Hi People,

I am new to XOOPS and also new to PHP.

I am desperately searching for some hack that would make the image manager use sub-categories because I am planning on a large "News Site" and it would be very useful.

Anyone can help?

DonXoop

I agree that the core image manager has severe limitations if you need to make heavy use of it. Sub categories would be nice as well as having the ability to specify sizing when an image is called. The interface itself can be cumbersome too.

If you are willing to forgo using the integrated interface when creating/editing articles then the solution I'm starting to use might help. I install an alternative gallery module (something other than what you use for the users) and make that module hidden. Now I have the full capabilities of that module which includes sub albums (categories). I populate the album with all the images and varying sized images I might need. Then I use a normal URL call to pull the images into the documents.

You might then also use a redirect scheme to make the URLs easier to use if the URL is sloppy looking.

Just an idea that help.