Casey
Uninstalling failed modules?
  • 2004/7/20 2:12

• Casey

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/7/18

I'm a C++ programmer who recently (2-3 days ago) came across XOOPS and was hoping to use the base system + some custom modules (which I could release back to the community) which would be related to event planning - my wedding specifically :). The PHP part doesn't look too difficult. Anyone else try to make that transition - is there anything I need to watch out for?

My real problem that I have at the moment is that the wiki basically only contains the kickstart guide and directory structure. Anyway, I did the kickstart, got my greeter going (finally). When I figured I'd throw together my own module I messed up my directory structure. No big deal right, delete, fix it, and start over. Well, I tried that but I am unable to uninstall the module. Can anyone give me some help with this? I'm totally clueless as to how to get rid of the module-box on the administration page. I deactivate it and click delete and all I get is a blank white page.

Dave_L
Re: Uninstalling failed modules?
  • 2004/7/20 9:13

• Dave_L

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2003/11/7

Quote:
blank white page

That could mean a lot of things. If you turn on PHP debug, you might get a useful error message.

If this is only a test-install of Xoops, the simplest solution might be to uninstall XOOPS (drop the database tables) and start over. Before trying to reinstall your test module, make a backup of the database, so that you can revert if the database gets messed up.

Also, when you install a module, a list of the database changes is displayed. Saving that list could be helpful if the module doesn't get installed properly.

Casey
Re: Uninstalling failed modules?
  • 2004/7/20 23:54

• Casey

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/7/18

Hmm, I just dropped the information referring to the modules from the MySQL table. That seems to have fixed things.

Login

Who's Online