GEOPIX
Newbie - basic Xoops Qs
  • 2004/7/1 11:45

• GEOPIX

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/7/1 1

I am a CMS newbie who is exploring Xoops, and considering using it for a new Web site. However, I cannot find a comprehensive digest of the basic XOOPS capabilities on the XOOPS site. One question and answer in the recent “Website of the Month” newsletter interview with George Hoogendoorn, of NABUUR.com raised some key questions that are not really answered on the All About XOOPS page (https://xoops.org/modules/wfchannel/):

> George: We use many XOOPS modules, amongst others:
> Forums
> Member pages
> News
> Newsletter
> Documents
> Links
> Articles
> Polls

- Is a marketing digest about these XOOPS modules available — even a paragraph or two?
- Where are these modules located on the Web site, or are all included in the main XOOPS download?
- Does the use of each XOOPS module require a separate SQL database?
- How many other XOOPS modules are available?

I would expect to see such basic information detailing which modules (if any) come with the XOOPS installer on the “All About Xoops” page, but could not find it there and was left guessing. The answers are probably obvious to experienced XOOPS users, but to a newbie, it seems that this page needs just a little more information about these basic modules and their capabilities.

Can anyone help? Thanks in advance for any guidance.

Mithrandir
Re: Newbie - basic Xoops Qs

I am not sure whether you were looking for answers, or just giving feedback on this website's content.

I'll answer them anyway just to be on the safe side

Quote:
- Is a marketing digest about these XOOPS modules available — even a paragraph or two?
- Where are these modules located on the Web site, or are all included in the main XOOPS download?

In the main XOOPS package are News, newBB (forums), Xoopspoll, Sections, Members, MyDownloads, Contact, MyLinks, FAQ, Headlines, Partners

Other modules mentioned may be found in the Downloads section