philroy
Making "Home" link appear off main page
  • 2004/1/23 21:28

• philroy

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2003/8/23

Hi all,

In the new design I'm working on, most of my main links run along the banner/header area of the site. Problem is, once you are away from the main page, there's no obvious way to get back to it.

I could just put in a "Home" link and leave it there, even on the main page, but I think that's poor design (yes, I know, fussy)....but I was wondering if there is any way to script something that says....

if....the current URL is not *exactly* the same as the site URL
show the "home" link
end if

I'm not a coder...just a hacker of others code, so I'm stuck on the first part....asking XOOPS to figure out what the current URL is?

If there is a better way, or if my idea is not a good one, please let me know.

Cheers,

Phil

philroy
Re: Making "Home" link appear off main page
  • 2004/1/31 8:59

• philroy

• Friend of XOOPS

Anyone?

Phil

carnuke
  • 2004/1/31 9:53

• carnuke

• Home away from home

• Since: 2003/11/5

Hi Phil

Not exactly what you are asking for .... however the top panel has a logo image to the left, with an existing link to home. Any way you could utilise this?

philroy
  • 2004/1/31 10:06

• philroy

• Friend of XOOPS

Yeah, I do use that, thanks...but some people don't realise. Could just be done with it and have a static "Home" link that does show on even the main page, but I was trying to be clever.

Anyone else?

Phil

kahumbu
  • 2004/1/31 16:04

• kahumbu

• Documentation Writer

Found this idea to be interesting so I took a whack at it.

First, you need to turn Smarty Debugging on to find out the $SCRIPT_NAME of your home page. And then, this should get you started:

<{if $SCRIPT_NAME !== "[color=CC0000]your script name[/color]"}>

<
a href="<{$xoops_url}>">Home</a>

<{/if}>

Just adjust that script to your needs. Hope it helps.

[edited by poster]

philroy
  • 2004/1/31 20:41

• philroy

• Friend of XOOPS