21
xpider
Re: Theme Design Q & A - Ask your questions here
  • 2005/5/7 16:39

  • xpider

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 150

  • Since: 2004/5/9 2


Is there an if and else that can be used when creating a theme for the public that can show or not show either left or right side columns if their is or is not content in one or the other?

I don't want to create 3 seperate theme.html files to cover this with left/center center/right and left/center/right so that I can include a graphic down the side of the empty column.

Example menu on left and a graphic going down the right side if there is no block content in left and the opposite if true on the left.

I hope you understand what I'm talking about.

If yes what would be the variables i would use in the if and else statements and how would i use them?

example: Xpidersweb

22
jamboree
Re: Theme Design Q & A - Ask your questions here
  • 2005/5/11 5:29

  • jamboree

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 28

  • Since: 2004/2/25


Hi,

I have a similar design layout question. I want my center column to have three sections.

1. At the top, I have a center center block that spans the entire width of the center column.

2. Under this i have placed useful blocks in 2 center columns (center left and center right). All good so far, no problems.

3. My issue comes when i try to add another block under No.2 above e.g have another center block that again spans the whole width of the center column.

I tried reproducing the table and smarty code in theme.html using Frontpage to add another cell but this cell repeats all blocks listed in the center center column and the layout is altered.

In summary: I need:
1 center column with 1 block at the top
2 center columns with 2 blocks in each column.
1 center column with 1 block at the bottom.

...so the center column is divided into:
1 column at top
2 columns in the middle
1 column again at the bottom.

please check my site homepagehttp://www.grandz.net/dragonfly/ to see what i mean. 1 & 2 above is ok. When i try to add No.3 (another center block at the bottom spanning the entire width of the center column), it doesn't work.

any help gratefully appreciated...

jamboree

23
Bassman
Re: Theme Design Q & A - Ask your questions here
  • 2005/5/11 5:48

  • Bassman

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 1272

  • Since: 2003/5/23


jamboree,
I don't believe what you want is possible with the current version of Xoops, but it may be implemented in future versions.

24
pod
Re: Theme Design Q & A - Ask your questions here
  • 2005/5/11 8:53

  • pod

  • Quite a regular

  • Posts: 301

  • Since: 2003/4/19


xspider - Although I'm told it should work with all the blocks, I can't get an *if* statement to work with left blocks. For right blocks, the syntax would be something like:
<{if $xoops_showrblock == 1}> 
<!-- 
Start right blocks loop -->
<{foreach 
item=block from=$xoops_rblocks}> 
<
div class="blockTitle"><{$block.title}></div>
<
div class="blockContent"><{$block.content}></div>
<{/foreach}> 
<!-- 
End right blocks loop  -->
<{else}>
<!-- 
Start Alternative Content -->
<
img src="<{$xoops_imageurl}>/whatever.gif">
<!-- 
End Alternative Content -->
<{/if}>


jamboree, check out the header hack @http://linux2.ohwada.net/

25
jamboree
Re: Theme Design Q & A - Ask your questions here
  • 2005/5/15 20:09

  • jamboree

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 28

  • Since: 2004/2/25


I've tried to use the code found on happy linux:
http://linux2.ohwada.net/modules/xfsection/article.php?articleid=15

however i have trouble interpreting the following code instruction....

(2) Center Block was assigned up and down.
xoops_ccblocks_up and xoops_ccblocks_down are asigned for theme templates.
conventional xoops_ccblocks is asigned too.
If weight value is ten or less, block is assigned to xoops_ccblocks_up.
If it is more than ten, block is assigned to xoops_ccblocks_down.

[code]
if ( $block_arr[$i]->getVar('weight') < 10)
{
$xoopsTpl->append('xoops_ccblocks_up', array('title' => $block_arr[$i]->getVar('title'), 'content' => $bcontent));
}
else
{
$xoopsTpl->append('xoops_ccblocks_down', array('title' => $block_arr[$i]->getVar('title'), 'content' => $bcontent));
}
[code]

not sure what this code is, where it goes or what file to ammend..... any help would be really appreciated
many thanks

26
cicin
Re: Theme Design Q & A - Ask your questions here
  • 2005/5/19 6:03

  • cicin

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 1

  • Since: 2005/5/19


can i change the logo with my own logo..??i cant change it becouse i dont know how to change it.is it possible to change the logo from the themes??can anyone answer my question??

27
pod
Re: Theme Design Q & A - Ask your questions here
  • 2005/5/19 7:36

  • pod

  • Quite a regular

  • Posts: 301

  • Since: 2003/4/19


Quote:
not sure what this code is, where it goes or what file to ammend...

It would go in yourxoopsdirectory/header.php
I personally just overwrote the file, didn't need to edit anything but my theme.html

Quote:
can i change the logo with my own logo..?? i cant change it becouse i dont know how to change it. is it possible to change the logo from the themes?? can anyone answer my question??

Yes, yes & yes.

You can change the logo by editing the theme.html file in whatever theme you are using, or by overwriting the logo image file in your /images/ directory.

Login

Who's Online

158 user(s) are online (51 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 158


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Mar 31
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits