Ebeng
Installing a module more than one once on a site
  • 2008/5/15 4:32

• Ebeng

• Just popping in

• Since: 2008/4/26

I have searched the XOOPS website and could not find an answer to my question.

I am new to computing. I want to build a website and was introduced to XOOPS by a work associate. I believe it has the functions I need. I have made a site outline and it has many topics and subtopics. To organize my topics I would like to put them in separate modules so each topic shows up in the menu. Do do this I would like to install a module more than one time. For example, I will have many topics that require static HTML pages. I would like to install a content modules for each major topic. I found one that works, xt_conteudo, but simply renaming the folder does not allow me to install this module more than once. I also want to install the 'news' module and a calendar module (although I have not yet found one that works satisfactorily - I'm open to suggestions) more than one time.

My question, Is it possible to install a module more than once? If so, how is that accomplished?

I would appreciate your input.

Thanks, Eben
stns@comcast.net

Catzwolf
Re: Installing a module more than one once on a site
  • 2008/5/15 4:53

• Catzwolf

• Home away from home

• Since: 2007/9/30

Actually is is not quite true that you are required to install a module more than once to get it to show up in the menu. There are ways and means of getting around each task by using one ore more modules. Actually some content modules will have their own menu for displaying categories as you have suggested. ie Smartsections, wf-channel are a couple I can name straight off my head.

You could also use the menu module by solo, do a search here and you will find it :)