smg6511
Tableless Templating/Themeing
  • 2006/12/18 18:01

• smg6511

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/12/15

Season's greetings folks! I'm a designer/developer in the midst of evaluating several open source CMSs for an upcoming project. I adopted a pure css layout and strict standards compliance philosophy some time ago and need to know if XOOPS can accommodate that.
Cheers!

vaughan
Re: Tableless Templating/Themeing
  • 2006/12/18 18:09

• vaughan

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2005/11/26

it sure can..

there's quite a number of pure CSS themes around lately.

and even some pure CSS 3 column themes.. (it's a real ***** trying to get 3 columns CSS themes rendering across all browsers too)

ianez
  • 2006/12/18 19:12

• ianez

• Not too shy to talk

• Since: 2006/1/26

yes there are css themes, sometimes not too much well written or compatible, as far as I know there aren't 3 much columuns themes tableless really working good.

but answering to your question smg I have to say that if you can have validated and accessible themes (growing fast in XOOPS community) this can't be said about core and modules.
Nearly all the html generated by XOOPS is with tables inside, not WAI written, and there are some validation error.
The situation get even worse with modules, sometimes generating bad code and never tableless (maybe article and few other have some tableless template).

Now the positive part... slowly but with good quality the interest for valid and accessible html/css output is growing in XOOPS community. The future 2.3 version is very focused on this point.
I add that templating for XOOPS is very easy and has a fast learning curve, this thanks to smarty powered template system and to some fixed css class that nearly all modules use for layout.