TopKnot
Open Source and Industry Standard
  • 2006/10/26 9:08

• TopKnot

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/9/27

Your thoughts on the following statement from an IT person.

I have to say though I'm not hot on open source stuff. *** (the company I work for) is usually looking to keep industry standard stuff and is willing to pay the extra bucks to get it.

I've been trying to get my company to save money by using open source software...XOOPS included. I have made a number of suggestions and get stonewalled. The above statement is a direct quote from my employer's IT person.

If you were a small business with employees willing to help with cutting cost, would you rather pay $2000 for a CMS and $500 per copy of a graphics program or use open source?

Herko
Re: Open Source and Industry Standard
  • 2006/10/26 9:39

• Herko

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2002/2/4 1

I'm an e-government consultant, and get this kind of question a lot.

It shouldn't matter what licencing model is attached to the software, what should matter is if it meets the requirements. These requirements are technical (does it work in our architecture), functional (does it perform the task we need it to do), and management and maintenance wise (what guarantees on service level, support, maitenance, training, etc. do we get) and implementation (can we get proof that this product does what we need, and that the implementor can do this?). Then you make a list of pros and cons, costs is just one factor in this equation.

The only thing you're asking from your company, is that they look at ALL available type of solutions, open ánd closed source.

Herko

Peekay
  • 2006/10/26 10:38

• Peekay

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2004/11/20

I think Herko's strategy is exactly the one your employer should be adopting. However, the problem you face is not whether XOOPS can match the functionality of a commercial CMS, it's that "No one ever got fired for buying IBM"
A thread is for life. Not just for Christmas.