jensclas
What is your best module/method for backing up?

Hi everyone
I am very concious of the need to 'backup' your site before you do anything and have looked through the FAQ's and find it all just a bit confusing for newbies...so..what I would like to know is assuming the user is a total newbie what modules (if any) would you recomend for using as a tool to backup a XOOPS site.

If you prefer your php myadmin/mysql approach please explain what you do.

I promise a backup/restore doc for newbies will result from your input!

kurak_bu
Re: What is your best module/method for backing up?
  • 2006/8/5 22:27

• kurak_bu

• Quite a regular

• Since: 2005/9/5 1

hi, I'm using this module:
https://xoops.org/modules/repository/singlefile.php?cid=17&lid=1115
if I make a backup from phpmyadmin i go there and then -> select database -> export DB -> I select all tables, i select write to file and press Export! I'm waiting one moment and i have whole .sql file on my desktop. That's all

jdseymour

I basically use MySQL command line and cron for my backups. See these articles:

Regular Database Backup with Cron

And

Mysql Database Restore

For files I synchronize with my FTP program when files change (which only happens when hacking, updating, or adding/removing of modules.

HTH.

jensclas

Thanks Karak BU

I didn't know this module existed...

Does this just back up your database? What about all the files? (that is I think we need to back up all files and data don't we?)

Hi john

I have read these articles and have a question since I have c panel - why wouldn't you just use the cpanel backup module? (I notice my host says this: Quote:
Note: You cannot restore these backups, they can only be restored by your administrator.
and they are really helpful...so as a 'noob' I am inclined to want to use that module in cpanel to create a backup file that they can use to restore my site (if that's how it works) because it seems easy...