1
biglove
How to use HTML page as root page
  • 2004/12/6 21:11

  • biglove

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 157

  • Since: 2004/8/18


I'm building a site and I would like to have the root page ( The page displayed at the root domain ) be a unique HTML page that is not part of the rest of the XOOPS site.

Is there any way to do this?

In the past I have created new customer blocks and had them displayed on the 'top page'. This time I'd like to try somethign different but I have not idea how to begin.

Thank You,
Bryan

2
ackbarr
Re: How to use HTML page as root page

I'd recommend checking out the FAQ article Can I include my own HTML pages in xoops? for a start

3
m0nty
Re: How to use HTML page as root page
  • 2004/12/6 22:26

  • m0nty

  • XOOPS is my life!

  • Posts: 3337

  • Since: 2003/10/24


there's also a few modules that do that aswell..

1 i used solely just to display a html page on the top page of my old site was FreeContent 3 with webDigest Disabled..

it's simple to do, but be careful how you design your html page as using lots of tables can sometimes screw the alignment up when viewing in various browsers.. using Divs tends to make them more compatible with various browsers when pages are wrapped in xoops.. (blame microsoft for their excellent browser) j/k..

4
biglove
Re: How to use HTML page as root page
  • 2004/12/9 16:15

  • biglove

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 157

  • Since: 2004/8/18


oops

5
biglove
Re: How to use HTML page as root page
  • 2004/12/9 16:18

  • biglove

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 157

  • Since: 2004/8/18


I've created HTML pages for XOOPS with the Include files before.

What I don't understand how to do it to get those pages I created to display as the 'root page'. The only way that I can access these hand coded pages is by manually linking to the page.

That works fine for support pages, however, the landing page is the most important and I would like more control.

I'm aware that one can have certain module pages show up on the 'root page', I have not seen how a webmaster can create their own hand coded 'root page'.

I've looked at FreeContent and WFchannel.

thanks,
Bryan

6
studioC
Re: How to use HTML page as root page
  • 2004/12/9 16:27

  • studioC

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 922

  • Since: 2003/12/7


if i do understand correct, just put an "index.html" into root of your domain for the apache is normally set to grab the html document first before looking for an index.PHP

than it is just a "linking problem" to add some links which you don't want to your root but index.php ..

i've done similar on my http://hokamp.info where there are som html document around XOOPS install and even at root..

michael

7
ackbarr
Re: How to use HTML page as root page

or you can modify the index.php script that comes with xoops:

/**
 * redirects to installation, if XOOPS is not installed yet
 **/
include "mainfile.php";

//check if start page is defined
if ( isset($xoopsConfig['startpage']) && $xoopsConfig['startpage'] != "" && $xoopsConfig['startpage'] != "--" ) {
    
header('Location: '.XOOPS_URL.'/modules/'.$xoopsConfig['startpage'].'/');
    exit();
} else {
    
$xoopsOption['show_cblock'] =1;
    [
color=008000][b]include "header.php";
    include 
"footer.php";[/b][/color]
}


Your custom page content can go between the two lines highlighted above.

8
studioC
Re: How to use HTML page as root page
  • 2004/12/9 16:56

  • studioC

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 922

  • Since: 2003/12/7


uups ... perhaps i should ask herko to switch main language of xoops.org to german ?

sorry for misunderstanding forget my posting ...

michael

Login

Who's Online

363 user(s) are online (57 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 363


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Oct 31
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits