tom
Mac Address Vs IP Address banning
  • 2004/10/11 23:52

• tom

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2002/9/21

A feature I fell is missed in XOOPS is MAC address and MAC banning, it would be good if when a user signs up his MAC address is added to his profile so only admin can see it, then a option in the admin to ban MAC address, this will ban that members machine (PC) and this does not change like a IP address.

I know this has been mentioned before, and a feature request has been added to Sourcforge, but just woundered if this feature would come? after all IP banning isn't really that usefull.

Are there any thoughts on this also?

tom
Re: Mac Address Vs IP Address banning
  • 2004/10/11 23:59

• tom

• Friend of XOOPS

Sorry forgot to add, maybe a additional feature to search Accounts using same mac, for those sites that state only 1 account per person????

upsadaz
  • 2004/10/12 1:28

• upsadaz

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2004/2/26

WOW! I love this idea. I am totally new to this so please be patient with me and my newbie questions(!). How would a mac address be identified? Is it already being 'seen' by the server and I just don't know it? I would love to be able to ban a particular user and not a whole IP range. On my site I allow anonymous comments. Most of our readers are paranoid about registering because they think big brother is watching. Would this idea work for anonymous posters too? Please educate me on how this works. I want to learn.

I'd love to have precise control over banning users.

ackbarr