1
biomech
"Could not register new user"
  • 2004/6/28 7:28

  • biomech

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 161

  • Since: 2002/2/25


Starting almost a year ago, I began to have problems with people not being able to log-in / register. I didn't know what the problem was, but eventually found out that it seemed to be something that Norton AntiVirus or other anti-virus / firewall software was running. I told people to disable NAV or adjust its settings to allow them to register, and that seemed to satisfy people for a while, but then recently again I've been getting people mailing me to say that even though they have completely disabled NAV, they still get the message "Could not register new user" when they try to register. Some of these people are fairly intelligent people in the webdev industry, and seem to think that XOOPS is offering a cookie or something else that is being blocked by their firewall, etc. They say that they are able to register on and use all kinds of other sites, etc., and I'm at a loss as to what it could be.

Does anyone have any idea what could be going on here? Does XOOPS offer or send out anything to the client machine that could be catching on firewall or AV settings?

-b-

2
tl
Re: "Could not register new user"
  • 2004/6/28 11:45

  • tl

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 999

  • Since: 2002/6/23


You will have to be specific about the your problems and your settings. Without seeing your site and knowing the details of your settings, we can't help much.

One thing that you might want to check if your web url is exactly the same as the URL defined in mainfile.php. Usually XOOPS will have problem with unmatched URLs and aslo with re-directing URL.


3
kahumbu
Re: "Could not register new user"
  • 2004/6/28 14:04

  • kahumbu

  • Documentation Writer

  • Posts: 277

  • Since: 2003/8/23


Quote:

biomech wrote:
Does anyone have any idea what could be going on here? Does XOOPS offer or send out anything to the client machine that could be catching on firewall or AV settings?

That would probably be an issue of HTTP_REFERRERS.

Check this thread: NIS Problems

You can also do a search. Several similar threads will come out.

4
biomech
Re: "Could not register new user"
  • 2004/7/19 23:39

  • biomech

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 161

  • Since: 2002/2/25


I thought I would try again here after having more bad luck - I still haven't been able to find the source of the problem, and am getting quite a lot of complaints from people who would like to register, but can't. Some people have been able to register after adjusting their Norton/firewall settings, but many seem to be having troubles even though they aren't running such software.

Example:
Quote:

Problem: Kutaki registration doesn't seem to work. I've tried 3
different computers, several browsers, disabling firewall & antivirus
software, asking two friends to try it out for me, and every time the
result is "Could not register new user." What can I do? Is there a
problem with the forum?


My url ishttp://www.kutaki.org.

Here is what I have in my mainfile.php:

define('XOOPS_ROOT_PATH', '/usr/local/www/data/domains/kutaki.org');
define('XOOPS_URL', 'http://www.kutaki.org');
define('XOOPS_CHECK_PATH', 1);

I can post more code if necessary, but at the moment I'm not sure what to show.

Any advice appreciated,

- b -


5
biomech
Re: "Could not register new user"
  • 2004/7/20 15:04

  • biomech

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 161

  • Since: 2002/2/25


I've found the place in the code which is getting tripped when a user goes to register - starting at line 205 of register.php:

if (!$member_handler->insertUser($newuser)) {
echo _US_REGISTERNG;
#echo "Could not insert new user...";
include 'footer.php';
exit();
}

I tried to register a test user myself and was also unable to do so, so now I am really stumped (and more determined to solve) this problem... Not exactly sure what's happening yet, but next step is to find out what that if statement is actually testing.

- b -

6
Mithrandir
Re: "Could not register new user"

You can try editing include/functions.php around line 137
function xoops_refcheck($docheck=1) {
     return 
true;
     
//previous code
}


If that solves it, it is a matter of your (potential) users blocking their HTTP referrer by *something*.

If you are not concerned with HTTP referrers being unavailable to your site (the security it gives is not much, but it is something) you can leave it at that, but at least it can perhaps give you an indication at, where the problem is.

7
biomech
Re: "Could not register new user"
  • 2004/7/20 16:01

  • biomech

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 161

  • Since: 2002/2/25


Thank you very much for your response.

I did try this, and still got no luck.

Out of curiosity, I checked my MySQL log file and can see the INSERT statement for the addition to xoops_users:

Quote:

INSERT INTO kt__users (uid, uname, name, email, url, user_avatar, user_regdate, user_icq, user_from, user_sig, user_viewemail, actkey, user_aim, user_yim, user_msnm, pass, posts, attachsig, rank, level, theme, timezone_offset, last_login, umode, uorder, notify_method, notify_mode, user_occ, bio, user_intrest, karma, user_mailok) VALUES (0, 'bofh', '', 'bofh@mydom.com', '', 'blank.gif', 1090340930, '', '', '', 0, 'c5e58f8c', '', '', '', '5cd867f1efddb59ebfd739f09da5a2fc', 0, 0, 0, 0, '', 9.00, 0, 'flat', 1, 1, 0, '', '', '', 1)


... but when I check the table with phpMyAdmin, the user doesn't show up. I don't understand why the SQL statement is executed if the user is getting denied on the front end at register.php, nor why the user does not show up in the users table if the SQL statement is being executed...

Thanks,

- b -


8
biomech
Re: "Could not register new user"
  • 2004/7/21 2:06

  • biomech

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 161

  • Since: 2002/2/25


Ok, think I've found the solution here.
When I added a karma system to my board, I added a "karma" field to the user table. I checked the INSERT statement that I posted above to make sure, but missed it on the first (and second) tries - the number of columns and fields is different. I discovered this by running the INSERT statement in phpMyAdmin, which gave me the error. I then checked the statement carefully and found that I should have a '0' as a value for a user's starting karma right before the last '1' of the above INSERT statement.

I adjusted the INSERT statement in kernel/user.php, but I still get the original "Could not register user" error... is there anywhere else I should look?

- b -

9
Mithrandir
Re: "Could not register new user"

What happens if you try manually executing the SQL query in e.g. phpMyAdmin? Do you get an error there?

10
biomech
Re: "Could not register new user"
  • 2004/7/21 8:10

  • biomech

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 161

  • Since: 2002/2/25


Thanks Mithrandir,

Yes, I do get an error if I post the SQL INSERT just as I showed above. I get: "Column count doesn't match value count at row 1"

If I try the INSERT with

Quote:

INSERT INTO kt__users( uid, uname, name, email, url, user_avatar, user_regdate, user_icq, user_from, user_sig, user_viewemail, actkey, user_aim, user_yim, user_msnm, pass, posts, attachsig, rank, LEVEL , theme, timezone_offset, last_login, umode, uorder, notify_method, notify_mode, user_occ, bio, user_intrest, karma, user_mailok ) VALUES ( 0, 'bofh', '', 'bofh@mydom.com', '', 'blank.gif', 1090340930, '', '', '', 0, 'c5e58f8c', '', '', '', '5cd867f1efddb59ebfd739f09da5a2fc', 0, 0, 0, 0, '', 9.00, 0, 'flat', 1, 1, 0, '', '', '', 0, 1 )


(That is, with a '0' added before the last '1' to correspond to what I want for the initial value of the "karma" field which I added to the user table...)

This successfully adds the user. So what I did was edit kernel/user.php and put that '0' into the INSERT statement, expecting that to solve the problem, but I still get the error when I go to register a test user on my board. Just wondering if there is some other INSERT statement that is actually being used by register.php (I can't find it!) or what...

Thanks for your advice,

- b -


Login

Who's Online

154 user(s) are online (118 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 154


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Apr 30
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits