420web
Looking to expand my site.... But in a new way...
  • 2004/4/21 17:21

• 420web

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/4/21

Hey all, I want to know if there are any downloads available, any where, that allow a full FLASH-XOOPS site. I want to convert the site to FLASH, and at the same time use the same database.

TO THE DEVELOPMENT TEAM - are there public scripting codes available, or example full flash-xoops sites, in the .fla format that I could work off of to acheive this? Or is it even possible?

I know there are scripts out there, and I think that I have saw it in some portions of websites containing Xoops.

I would like my site viewers to view the site in the regular way (like this) or have the choice to view it in a way that's more animated, in flash.

If there is anything out there, tutorials, full sites [containing the .fla(s)], they would help greatly. I am a flash designer, however I have not yet experimented with the FLASH-XOOPS site concept yet. I have had this Idea in my mind for some time now, and would like to know if this would work.

Mithrandir
Re: Looking to expand my site.... But in a new way...

I have no knowledge about Flash, unfortunately.

Welcome to the forums and good luck with your site, but you don't have to double-post to get our attention

ackbarr

Like Mithrandir - I have no direct Flash experience, but AFAIK a flash file can use the LoadVars function to retrieve flash variables from a server-side script. This capability + xoops's ability to customize server output using smarty should be enough to make a flash based xoops-site.

The first couple of results look very helpful: Google: Flash + PHP/Mysql

420web
  • 2004/4/23 22:53

• 420web

• Just popping in

Thanks guys, the double post is to ensure that other fans of flash, and the XOOPS project, who may know of other ways to encorperate flash to Xoops. If there is anyone willing to help out with this please contact me thru PM here on the site, Thanks.