1
Visser1
Saving configuration data..problem
  • 2004/3/17 19:50

  • Visser1

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 8

  • Since: 2004/3/16


"Saving configuration data..
Could not write into mainfile.php. Please check the file permission and try again."

Halfway through my installation. Of course, this is odd seeing as earlier it told me it was writable...any suggesrtions on what to do?

2
Stewdio
Re: Saving configuration data..problem
  • 2004/3/17 21:48

  • Stewdio

  • Community Support Member

  • Posts: 1560

  • Since: 2003/5/7 1


chmode to 0777 before install and then chmode to 444 when complete

3
Visser1
Re: Saving configuration data..problem
  • 2004/3/18 12:54

  • Visser1

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 8

  • Since: 2004/3/16


How do I do that?

4
DonXoop
Re: Saving configuration data..problem

That is a loaded question and depends on many things. The one sure way if you are on a hosted system is with your FTP client. You should have options to set file permissions of files even after they are uploaded. You will have to look at your FTP client to find it, each one does it differently. If you don't have those options you need a better client.

The client might not show the rights as a 0777 for example and might use dumber terminology. 777 means read,write,execute by all users. 444 is read-only for all users. 644 would be read/write by the file owner (you) and read-only for the user group and everyone else.

5
Visser1
Re: Saving configuration data..problem
  • 2004/3/18 16:07

  • Visser1

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 8

  • Since: 2004/3/16


Right, everything's installed and now I've got the blank screen,just working on debugging that...

6
Visser1
Re: Saving configuration data..problem
  • 2004/3/18 16:36

  • Visser1

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 8

  • Since: 2004/3/16


Could anyone help?

Ive looked over the Blank Screen help and I've tried all the ones I can. What comes up on the screen is nothing. For all of the pages, nothing comes up, apart from admin.php, which tells me I'm not allowed to go there...

Any help?

7
Mithrandir
Re: Saving configuration data..problem

You have never got as far as to the system admin? so you have not had any chance to put on PHP debug?

In that case you can do it like this:

In include/common.php around line 90, this is:
if ($xoopsConfig['debug_mode'] == 1) {
        
error_reporting(E_ALL);
    } else {
        
// Turn off error handler
        
$xoopsErrorHandler->activate(false);
    }

Change it to
error_reporting(E_ALL);
without the if/else clause

8
Visser1
Re: Saving configuration data..problem
  • 2004/3/18 17:05

  • Visser1

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 8

  • Since: 2004/3/16


Like this?

Quote:
// ################# Load Config Settings ##############
$config_handler =& xoops_gethandler('config');
$xoopsConfig =& $config_handler->getConfigsByCat(XOOPS_CONF);

// #################### Error reporting settings ##################
error_reporting(E_ALL);

if ($xoopsConfig['enable_badips'] == 1 && isset($HTTP_SERVER_VARS['REMOTE_ADDR']) && $HTTP_SERVER_VARS['REMOTE_ADDR'] != '') {
foreach ($xoopsConfig['bad_ips'] as $bi) {


If that's correct, then it's still not working

9
Visser1
Re: Saving configuration data..problem
  • 2004/3/19 16:55

  • Visser1

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 8

  • Since: 2004/3/16


Am I suppose to make some sort of page before anything comes up?

10
Mithrandir
Re: Saving configuration data..problem

Yep, like that.

And no, you should be able to at least get something on the site after successful installation. XOOPS is built to be 100% database driven, so all contents is meant to come after installation.

Can you give a link to the site?

Login

Who's Online

156 user(s) are online (87 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 156


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: May 31
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits