voddie
Newbie question
  • 2003/11/24 14:30

• voddie

• Just popping in

• Since: 2003/10/20

Hi

Im altering the root/userinfo.php and root/edituser.php and I want to increase the amount of text that is allowed. Im having a little trouble figuring out how to do this....could someone please explain the following line of code.....

$xoopsTpl->assign('user_extrainfo', $myts->makeTareaData4Show($thisUser->getVar('bio', 'N'),0,1,1));

It's mainly the 'N' and the trailing numbers....

Im also quite new to MySql and wondered if I had to alter the database.....I understand varchar but how does the tinytext work?.....are there any other files that need to be altered......thanks for any help offered

Voddie

CBlue
Re: Newbie question

Amount of text for what text area? All of them or just one or two places?

CBlue

Check out this thread it seems to be what you are asking about.https://xoops.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=14032&forum=7&post_id=56690#forumpost56690

voddie
  • 2003/11/24 16:50

• voddie

• Just popping in

Followed the thread, but still a little confused.

What Im trying to do

Alter the user info page, to lose some sections ie ICQ etc and make the signature display as much text as the user types in.....like a biography section

The next step is altering the contact form and search options for members section

Voddie

CBlue

Maybe editing this template file system_userinfo.html will be what you need to do to change your view user and edit user pages.

voddie
  • 2003/11/24 22:54

• voddie

• Just popping in

Thanks for the help.....Ive managed most of what im wanting....except being able to change the amount of text that is show as a signature. I only get five lines of text, when there is about four paragraphs.

I can't workout where to look. Is this variable set in a php file or is it limited by how many characters are excepted by the database....

Any help again will stop my head hurting...

Thanks in advance

voddie

CBlue