phatjew
template not automatically recompiled
  • 2003/11/18 18:51

• phatjew

• Just popping in

• Since: 2003/10/8

Hey there,

I am a template newbie, so please tell me if I am doing something wrong.

When I change a template, in my experience it is NOT automatically recompiled. I have to manually update the module via the admin page to see the change. Is this true for everyone?

This is especially important during develoment, because I am constantly making changes and I want to be able to see the result without having to go to the admin=>module page and clicking the "Update" button every single time.

--Rafi

ackbarr
Re: template not automatically recompiled

what you are experiencing is accurate - once a module is installed the template contents are extracted from the template files and added to the XOOPS database. So when you change the file in the 'templates' directory XOOPS does not know about it until the module is updated in System -> Modules.

What I do to minimize this modify -> reload -> retry cycle is to develop modules from the outside in. This means that I develop my modules in the following order:
html mockup
templates
frontend php pages
blocks
admin
php classes
database schema

Ok. Not exactly like that, many times I have the db schema / class structure in my head from the very beginning, but I don't actually write any of the lower level code until I know how I am going to be using it.

phatjew
  • 2003/11/18 19:01

• phatjew

• Just popping in

OK, fair enough.

Is there a way to invoke some XOOPS code to recompile the templates EVERY TIME a page is loaded? I am thinking about a line like:

$xoopsOption['compile_templates'] = 'true';

I could use this during development, then comment it out or delete it once I am finished.

Does anything like this exist?

phatjew
  • 2003/11/18 19:09

• phatjew

• Just popping in

Holy Crap! It's in the Wiki!

Quote: