costi
How do you develop your modules?
  • 2003/10/15 14:27

• costi

• Just popping in

• Since: 2003/9/12

I'm a newbie in XOOPS API and development. I started to develop a module and things are going slow.

What's annoying me the most is that I have to click to "update module" everytime I change a template. Am I stupid or there is another, much easier way? I worked before with smarty templates, and smarty detected when I modified the template and updated templates_c automatically. There is an option in XOOPS to make it behave this way?

And I don't get it why the templates are in a database when it's much easyer and faster on a filesystem.

Coplan
Re: How do you develop your modules?
  • 2003/10/15 17:53

• Coplan

• Just popping in

• Since: 2002/10/2

Honestly, I havn't tried to mess with anything else. There might be an option for that, but I havn't even thought to try.

Personally, my templates tend to be very simple. For example, the module I'm working on right now has a standard header and a standard footer. Then the body is dynamic. Sometimes its a table, other times its just a few paragraphs or lists. So I tend to just have a smarty variable to hold everything in the body. Once that template is done, I reload the module (it reloads the template), and then I can code the behavior of said body, and I don't have to reload the module again through this process. I just reload the page in my browser as you would with any other PHP development project.

OUt of curiosity, there is an option in the system options to read/update templates from the disk. Does that affect module templates? Or is that just for themes? I'd try it myself, but I'm at work, and my 2.0.x installation isn't public for me to check.

mrgym
  • 2003/10/16 14:51

• mrgym

• Just popping in

• Since: 2002/4/26