Chado
SOLVED - Making Xoops CONTENT Multilingual
  • 2003/7/15 14:24

• Chado

• Not too shy to talk

• Since: 2003/6/6 7

This hack will work with news, forum, wf-sections, tinycontent or any module that uses the textsanitizer.
After searching the boards and posting a couple questions that never were answered, I had a go at this myself and well…necessity is the mother of invention….I discovered the module.textsanitizer.php file and messed with it till I got it to work. I am not a coder, so I am sure that someone can improve on this. (More on that later)
First things first:
This hack assumes that you are using the multi-lingual hack that can be downloaded here from ModsCentral.
To install it on Xoops2.x, follow the instructions I posted here.
That will get your XOOPS to be multilingual.

Now to make your content multilingual:
1. Open the module.textsanitizer.php file in the class folder. Around line 145 is the function “&xoopsCodeDecode” After the line
Quote:
$replacements = array();

and before the line
Quote:
$patterns[] = "/\[ code](.*)\\[\/ code\]/esU";

Place this code:
Quote:
//multi-lingual hack by chad--if japanese show japanese else show nothing
global $xoopsConfig;
$patterns[] = "/\[japanese](.*)\[\/japanese\]/sU";
if ($xoopsConfig['language'] == "japanese") {
$replacements[] = '\\1';
} else {
$replacements[] ="" ;
}
//if english show english else show nothing
$patterns[] = "/\[english](.*)\[\/english\]/sU";
if ($xoopsConfig['language'] == "english") {
$replacements[] = '\\1';
} else {
$replacements[] = "";
}
//end multi-lingual hack

Of course you will change the language ('english','japanese') to reflect the languages that you are targeting. The name in the brackets has to match the name of your language pack that you downloaded (or created). You could add more if you are targeting more than 2 languages.

To use this: