Ifrit
Comments on forum.
  • 2004/5/24 21:27

• Ifrit

• Just popping in

• Since: 2003/7/6 8

Ok i am no coder, i am no programmer, i have no idea if this is possible so dont shoot me down if im asking for the impossible

Here goes:

I dislike the current xoops' news comment system, i really do :P

So i was wondering, is it possible to... i better type in an example because i cant explain myself heh...

I login as my site's administrator, i type in a news article, great.
At the same time, a new topic is created on the Forum module, at a predestinated forum under a predestinated category.
This new topic is just like the news article that i posted on xoops, it has the same title and the same content.
Then if a user clicks the 'Comments?' link under every news article, the user will be redirected to this newly created topic on my forum, and in here he can comment all he wants about the news, all of that already inside the forum

This way all the news on the site would have it's own topic on the forum, where users could discuss more openly about the news.

Please tell me i made myself clear

Ps. Either this or direct me to where i can get different comment systems.

~Is it possible? Thanks!

limecity
Re: Comments on forum.
  • 2004/5/24 21:40

• limecity

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2003/7/6 0

Oh.. a nut in a nutshell..

you want to link the NEWS comment as a discussion in the forum?

Here's a idea for u..
maybe you can hack the template of the news index page..

In the current News module..
you have READ MORE and COMMENTS

If you are capable of hacking, you add another Link there..
DISCUSS IN FORUM , link it to one of your forum categories where is redirects the user to the new topic form directly.

you might want to create a new category called News Forum. All the comments on news will be centralized there.

hope u understand what i am trying to explain here.~

Brad
  • 2004/5/24 21:43

• Brad

• Not too shy to talk

• Since: 2003/12/4