xoops forums

K3v1n

Just popping in
Posted on: 2004/12/17 21:50
K3v1n
K3v1n (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 4
Since: 2004/12/4
#1

How to reorder the Menu menu

For example I have:

Home
News
Forums

but I want
Home
Forums
news


Thanks for helping

stuie200

Friend of XOOPS
Posted on: 2004/12/17 21:55
stuie200
stuie200 (Show more)
Friend of XOOPS
Posts: 161
Since: 2004/1/4 2
#2

Re: How to reorder the Menu menu

Go into the admin control panel then choose modules and by changing the number next to the listed modules you can change the position they appear in the main menu

2 puts the item at the top, 3 next one down and so on.... (home will always appear at the top of the list)

If you choose 0 (zero) then that item will not appear in the menu

Regards

Stuart

tedsmith

Home away from home
Posted on: 2011/10/6 16:21
tedsmith
tedsmith (Show more)
Home away from home
Posts: 1151
Since: 2004/6/2 1
#3

Re: How to reorder the Menu menu

Sorry to bump a 7 year old thread (!!!), but I've just upgraded from Xoops 2.4.4 to 2.5.3 and I find that I all of a sudden cannot re-order module items in my main menu? I have done it as described above since the dawn of time (well, 2004), and now I seem unable to work it out.

If I got to modules in System Admin I have the following columns :

Module | Version | Last Update | Active | Menu | Action

None of which have any numbers or arrows to move modules up or down.

I even read this (http://macambridge.com/dummies/menus.htm) which describes the process in the same way?

Help!

Mamba

Moderator
Posted on: 2011/10/6 16:25
Mamba
Mamba (Show more)
Moderator
Posts: 10991
Since: 2004/4/23
#4

Re: How to reorder the Menu menu

We've made it easier for you in the XOOPS 2.5.x series - to re-order the modules just do the "drag and drop" with your mouse
Support XOOPS => DONATE
Use 2.5.10 | Docs | Modules | Bugs

tedsmith

Home away from home
Posted on: 2011/10/6 17:00
tedsmith
tedsmith (Show more)
Home away from home
Posts: 1151
Since: 2004/6/2 1
#5

Re: How to reorder the Menu menu

Ha, I didn't notice the 4th line at the top of the modules admin that reads " * To change order of modules (which will be reflected in the Menu), you just need to drag and drop the modules to the desired placement."

Very neat...only problem is that I must be doing something wrong because it doesn't seem to work. Darn! I am not having much luck.

Cesagonchu

Moderator
Posted on: 2011/10/6 21:55
Cesagonchu
Cesagonchu (Show more)
Moderator
Posts: 881
Since: 2010/2/1 2
#6

Re: How to reorder the Menu menu

Don't worry, you're not alone, I have the same bug.

I'll put it on Sourceforge bug tracker :
https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?group_id=41586&atid=430840


In the meantime, try this :
https://xoops.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?post_id=341311

trabis

Core Developer
Posted on: 2011/10/6 22:02
trabis
trabis (Show more)
Core Developer
Posts: 2269
Since: 2006/9/1 1
#7

Re: How to reorder the Menu menu

What is the problem?
-The module logo cannot be dragged
-The module logo wont stick in its new position
-The module logo sticks in new position but if I refresh the page it is back to old position
-The module logo sticks in new position and stays in position after page refresh, but does not affect position in mainmenu block,

Cesagonchu

Moderator
Posted on: 2011/10/6 22:05
Cesagonchu
Cesagonchu (Show more)
Moderator
Posts: 881
Since: 2010/2/1 2
#8

Re: How to reorder the Menu menu

The module logo cannot be dragged
When I try to drag, this image appears in another tab :
Resized Image

trabis

Core Developer
Posted on: 2011/10/6 22:09
trabis
trabis (Show more)
Core Developer
Posts: 2269
Since: 2006/9/1 1
#9

Re: How to reorder the Menu menu

@Cesag, If you installed 2.5.2 previously, can you try clean your browser cache?

What browser are you using? Is there any error reported by the browser?

Can you paste the <HEAD> contents of the html page here?

Thank you.

Cesagonchu

Moderator
Posted on: 2011/10/6 22:25
Cesagonchu
Cesagonchu (Show more)
Moderator
Posts: 881
Since: 2010/2/1 2
#10

Re: How to reorder the Menu menu

It is not an upgrade, it's a a fresh install of Xoops 2.5.3.
I use Maxthon browser. But I have the same problem with Internet Eplorer.
<head
    <!-- 
Assign Theme name --> 
    
    <!-- 
Title and meta --> 
    <
meta http-equiv="content-language" content="en" /> 
    <
meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" /> 
    <
title>Just Use it! - XOOPS Site</title
    <
meta name="robots" content="index,follow" /> 
    <
meta name="keywords" content="xoops, web applications, web 2.0, sns, news, technology, headlines, linux, software, download, downloads, free, community, forum, bulletin board, bbs, php, survey, polls, kernel, comment, comments, portal, odp, open source, opensource, FreeSoftware, gnu, gpl, license, Unix, *nix, mysql, sql, database, databases, web site, blog, wiki, module, modules, theme, themes, cms, content management" /> 
    <
meta name="description" content="XOOPS is a dynamic Object Oriented based open source portal script written in PHP." /> 
    <
meta name="rating" content="general" /> 
    <
meta name="author" content="XOOPS" /> 
    <
meta name="copyright" content="Copyright @ 2001-2011" /> 
    <
meta name="generator" content="XOOPS" /> 
 
    <!-- 
Rss --> 
    <
link rel="alternate" type="application/rss+xml" title="" href="http://www.cesag.byethost3.com/e/backend.php" /> 
 
    <!-- 
Favicon --> 
    <
link rel="shortcut icon" type="image/ico" href="http://www.cesag.byethost3.com/e/themes/default/icons/favicon.ico" /> 
    <
link rel="icon" type="image/png" href="http://www.cesag.byethost3.com/e/themes/default/icons/favicon.png" /> 
 
    <!-- 
Sheet Css --> 
    <
link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="all" title="Style sheet" href="http://www.cesag.byethost3.com/e/xoops.css" /> 
    <
link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="all" title="Style sheet" href="http://www.cesag.byethost3.com/e/themes/default/style.css" /> 
    <!--[if 
lte IE 8]>
        <
link rel="stylesheet" href="http://www.cesag.byethost3.com/e/themes/default/styleIE8.css" type="text/css" />
    <![endif]--> 
 
    <!-- 
customized header contents --> 
    <
script src="http://www.cesag.byethost3.com/e/include/xoops.js" type="text/javascript"></script
<
link rel="stylesheet" href="http://www.cesag.byethost3.com/e/language/english/style.css" type="text/css" /> 
 
 
</
head>


Please see my website (to make tests) here :
http://www.cesag.byethost3.com/e/