xoops forums

hackbrill

Friend of XOOPS
Posted on: 2009/10/30 19:40
hackbrill
hackbrill (Show more)
Friend of XOOPS
Posts: 283
Since: 2005/7/14
#11

Re: Adding Existing PHP/MySQL App to Main Menu?

Quote:

SaddleBrooke wrote:
Can u provide link for Ghost 2 Module?


As Ghia stated, it is in preparation but no longer available. I found the files and source code on xoofoo/ghost/files but they're not available to download. I'm wondering if you could copy the source code of the files into Notepad++ and save as the original file name and directory structure--would it work?

SaddleBrooke

Just popping in
Posted on: 2009/10/30 20:18
SaddleBrooke
SaddleBrooke (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 21
Since: 2009/10/12
#12

Re: Adding Existing PHP/MySQL App to Main Menu?

Absolutely ... Great Idea!

Updated Comments: Created Ghost 2 and Installed it. At first, nothing showed. Then I copied my PHP/MySQL app into the main directory and everything worked like Ghost 1 (the original).

Presently, I'm only trying to add my Recipes App (PHP/MySQL) and have it show in the main window ... for Registered Users. I'm also interested to know how to add more apps, if anyone can help with this part too.
Screens are better, but nothing seems to help. I'm including screen images and asking if anyone can help explain what information is added.

Index Screen
Resized Image


Manage Pages Screen
Resized Image


Clone Module Screen
Resized Image


Preferences Screen
Resized Image


Edit A Block Screen
Resized Image


If the screens are too small to view, right-click on the image and download it for viewing. The downloaded images are larger than they look.

Any Help or suggestions greatly appreciated.

ghia

Community Support Member
Posted on: 2009/10/31 10:24
ghia
ghia (Show more)
Community Support Member
Posts: 4954
Since: 2008/7/3 1
#13

Re: Adding Existing PHP/MySQL App to Main Menu?

Manage pages should show the example page in the list.

Try this version. Unpack with 7zip.
This is an unfinished work. If you are not able to verify PHP code or correct PHP errors don't use it.

SaddleBrooke

Just popping in
Posted on: 2009/10/31 12:06
SaddleBrooke
SaddleBrooke (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 21
Since: 2009/10/12
#14

Re: Adding Existing PHP/MySQL App to Main Menu?

Installed without any problem, thanks.

Still 4 questions ...

1. How Do I Include my /Recipes PHP/MYSQL Application.

I can see the sample, how do I add, change or delete items. Too bad the "How Do We Use Ghost" isn't completed.

I setup my record, pointing to the site location, but when the item appears ... only the name is shown. There's no way to click or trigger the item.

2. Name Shown is "Ghost Module", can I change the name and where/how do I do it.

3. RSS Feed: Is this for future use or can I use real feed for something related?

4. Clone: Please explain the purpose and use ... basic explanation.

Thanks for your help and patience.

ghia

Community Support Member
Posted on: 2009/10/31 13:05
ghia
ghia (Show more)
Community Support Member
Posts: 4954
Since: 2008/7/3 1
#15

Re: Adding Existing PHP/MySQL App to Main Menu?

You have to edit how_use_Ghost.php to integrate PHP or HTML sources.
Use it as template to add more pages in the same directory. Add the pages with the admin - manage page tab and click add.
In the drop down select the new created page name and fill in the rest (eg see edit example (pencil icon)).
Features of the module are new and not yet documented. To test and to try out yourself.
Module name is to be changed in the module manager as with every module.
Cloning is for having the same module again under a second directory and name.

hackbrill

Friend of XOOPS
Posted on: 2009/10/31 13:54
hackbrill
hackbrill (Show more)
Friend of XOOPS
Posts: 283
Since: 2005/7/14
#16

Re: Adding Existing PHP/MySQL App to Main Menu?

Thanks for your help, Ghia. The only error I've noticed so far is just a notice:

Notice: Use of undefined constant _AM_GHOST_PAGES_VIEW_UNAPPROVED - assumed '_AM_GHOST_PAGES_VIEW_UNAPPROVED' in file /modules/ghost/admin/pages.php line 32

kris_fr

Theme Designer
Posted on: 2009/10/31 14:36
kris_fr
kris_fr (Show more)
Theme Designer
Posts: 1009
Since: 2005/12/31
#17

Re: Adding Existing PHP/MySQL App to Main Menu?

hi,

There is a version 2.0 of this module.
I think dugris should publish very quickly
But this module becomes a real module in this version with many new features
Some lucky are currently testing this module

Quote:
With this XOOPS module.
You can simply take the contents of the html or php pages of your previous sites

This module allows :
- Meta management (title, description, keywords)
- Permissions management for each page (View, comment vote)
- Tag clouds management for each page (with phppp tag module)
- Show/hide management of blocks for each page
- Display blocks management for each page
- Report content to a friend (with GIJOE tellafriend module)


@+

ps : doc api updated and chm e-book on tutos.xoofoo.org

SaddleBrooke

Just popping in
Posted on: 2009/10/31 15:54
SaddleBrooke
SaddleBrooke (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 21
Since: 2009/10/12
#18

Re: Adding Existing PHP/MySQL App to Main Menu?

I had already setup my record, pointing to the site location, but when the item appears ... only the name is shown. There's no way to click or trigger the item. It NOW seems that the page has to be in the SAME directory? If so, why does the add page use a URL for the item.

The template is only showing an echo type of statment, it doesn't really provide an example of using a module or using an app (i.e., Wordpress, etc) ....

My PHP/MySQL app (Recipes) is located in a directory. Are you saying I need to copy my app to the Ghost module and then name (add) a page via the Ghost App?

Can you help clarify.

ghia

Community Support Member
Posted on: 2009/10/31 18:25
ghia
ghia (Show more)
Community Support Member
Posts: 4954
Since: 2008/7/3 1
#19

Re: Adding Existing PHP/MySQL App to Main Menu?

Quote:
My PHP/MySQL app (Recipes) is located in a directory. Are you saying I need to copy my app to the Ghost module and then name (add) a page via the Ghost App?
Yes, that is the whole idea of turning a script into a XOOPS module.
Your main script has to be merged with the example document.

SaddleBrooke

Just popping in
Posted on: 2009/10/31 18:34
SaddleBrooke
SaddleBrooke (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 21
Since: 2009/10/12
#20

Re: Adding Existing PHP/MySQL App to Main Menu?

Thanks ...

I didn't realize it was really that simple. So, I copy all the contents of my /Recipes directory to /Module/Ghost ... and then I just copy my index.php into the sample php and rename it, i.e., Recipe.php?

Isn't this going to bloat the /Ghost directory, especially as I add other apps, i.e., Wordpress, etc.