ashlyn
"Pages" and "FAQ" Modules hacked (2.0.13.2)
  • 2009/1/27 12:14

• ashlyn

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/5/23

Got hacked, and the guy only created one page on both modules, then linked to it, leaving all the previous info there, but with line breaks enabled, so it broke the pages.

Could not edit anything in admin, so had to go into the database and do it manually.

Now can not edit anything in admin due to "Error while updating database!" OR "Could not add contents"

Although I've fixed it manually, I'm sure it's vulnerable to another attack. Is there a fix for this, without having to redo the whole site?

Thanks for any tips.

** Add

Just about the whole site is busted. Can't get any icons in the admin panel, and when i try to go to the control panel it keeps telling me this is my first time, and reloads the page when I try to log in. (checked cookies, exceptions etc with no luck)

Can't post to the forum, nor news articles.
I guess a complete redo of site might not be out of the question. Does this mean the database is corrupted too?

McDonald
Re: "Pages" and "FAQ" Modules hacked (2.0.13.2)
  • 2009/1/27 13:54

• McDonald

• Home away from home

• Since: 2005/8/15

What's the version of your XOOPS website and installed modules?

Do you have Protector installed and if yes is it installed the correct way (outside the root)?

ashlyn
  • 2009/1/28 6:31

• ashlyn

• Just popping in

Xoops version 2.0.13.2
Pages module version 1.5
FAQ module version 1.1
Forum version 1

Don't know what Protector is, so obviously I don't have it installed.
** edit - downloading v 2.5 now.
(will this work if the site has already been messed with?)

This script kiddie has locked me out of just about the whole site. I can edit in the database, but not via the site admin. Users (and admins) can't submit news, forum posts, events etc. Admin panel link icons are missing in the left of the page, so I can go nowhere normally (have to go to modules then the desired one)