xoops forums

McDonald

Home away from home
Posted on: 2008/2/18 11:24
McDonald
McDonald (Show more)
Home away from home
Posts: 1072
Since: 2005/8/15
#1

Turkey attacks websites again

Just to inform you all.

Today I found the entries as shown in the pictures below in my 'log' (Php-Stats).
I've blocked all 3 IP's but will probably block the whole IP-ranges from Turkey soon. Note that 1 IP belong to Amazone...
I am glad I got Protector installed.
For sure that more XOOPS websites are under attack at the moment.

Resized Image

Resized Image

Resized Image

Anonymous

Posted on: 2008/2/18 13:58
Anonymous
Anonymous (Show more)
Posts: 0
Since:
#2

Re: Turkey attacks websites again

Can you tell us which IP ranges you plan to ban?

Maybe PM best?

Thanks for the "heads-up"

Anonymous

Posted on: 2008/2/18 21:23
Anonymous
Anonymous (Show more)
Posts: 0
Since:
#3

Re: Turkey attacks websites again

If anyone wants to block those Turkish chaps then add:

88.240.


into the "badips" list in your Protector module (assuming you use it).

jfmoore

Quite a regular
Posted on: 2008/2/19 17:56
jfmoore
jfmoore (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 360
Since: 2004/6/6 5
#4

Re: Turkey attacks websites again

My site is not live, and I hadn't any entries in this field. I thought this was a good place to start, so I put "88.240.*" in the Bad IPs field. When the page refreshed, this field displayed as follows:

88.240.*:2147483647

It displays this whether you put in "88.240." or "88.240.*".

What are these extra characters? Is this proper?

Jere
...

jfmoore

Quite a regular
Posted on: 2008/2/29 16:19
jfmoore
jfmoore (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 360
Since: 2004/6/6 5
#5

Re: Turkey attacks websites again

(bump)

?
...

Anonymous

Posted on: 2008/3/6 20:43
Anonymous
Anonymous (Show more)
Posts: 0
Since:
#6

Re: Turkey attacks websites again

Quote:
jfmoore wrote:

My site is not live, and I hadn't any entries in this field. I thought this was a good place to start, so I put "88.240.*" in the Bad IPs field. When the page refreshed, this field displayed as follows:

88.240.*:2147483647

It displays this whether you put in "88.240." or "88.240.*".

What are these extra characters? Is this proper?

Jere


Hi Jere,

Sorry, I've not seen this before.... I entered "88.240." (without the quotation marks) in my site's config and that's what shows in the list.

I've looked through Protector's preferences options and can't think what would do what you have seen. Does your site have "custom sessions" enabled?

Anonymous

Posted on: 2008/3/20 18:03
Anonymous
Anonymous (Show more)
Posts: 0
Since:
#7

Re: Turkey attacks websites again

Quote:
jfmoore wrote:

My site is not live, and I hadn't any entries in this field. I thought this was a good place to start, so I put "88.240.*" in the Bad IPs field. When the page refreshed, this field displayed as follows:

88.240.*:2147483647

It displays this whether you put in "88.240." or "88.240.*".


Hmmmmm...... I upgraded to Protector v3.16beta and I now get this (the exact same number, too!) upon entering the ip address.

Is this the version of Protector you're using? What filters do you have enabled?

jfmoore

Quite a regular
Posted on: 2008/3/20 22:37
jfmoore
jfmoore (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 360
Since: 2004/6/6 5
#8

Re: Turkey attacks websites again

Quote:

JAVesey wrote:
Quote:
jfmoore wrote:

My site is not live, and I hadn't any entries in this field. I thought this was a good place to start, so I put "88.240.*" in the Bad IPs field. When the page refreshed, this field displayed as follows:

88.240.*:2147483647

It displays this whether you put in "88.240." or "88.240.*".


Hmmmmm...... I upgraded to Protector v3.16beta and I now get this (the exact same number, too!) upon entering the ip address.

Is this the version of Protector you're using? What filters do you have enabled?


It's showing v3.15. As far as filters go, I think I left everything at the default suggested settings.

I've asked over at Peak Xoops. I'll post here if I get an answer.
...

Anonymous

Posted on: 2008/3/21 8:55
Anonymous
Anonymous (Show more)
Posts: 0
Since:
#9

Re: Turkey attacks websites again

Quote:
jfmoore wrote:

I've asked over at Peak Xoops. I'll post here if I get an answer.


That's great - I'll keep an eye on the GIJOE's site.

altenergy

Just popping in
Posted on: 2008/4/25 13:10
altenergy
altenergy (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 44
Since: 2007/7/17
#10

Re: Turkey attacks websites again

Hey McDonald, before you block anything look at this:

http://www.blockacountry.com/index.php