WorldBuilder
100% Newbie - General Questions...

Hello all,

Well, I've been a static XHTML designer on and off for many a year but have never ventured into this type of arena. Long have I heard of XOOPS, but never installed or used it.

But times are changing and it seems as though XOOPS will be the answer to all my needs. THANKS for a wonderful CMS!!!

I just installed it (for the first time ever) and have some general questions. You can see the installation here.

1. This is silly, but how do I install a theme? I downloaded two of them, but cannot for the life of me figure out what to do with them! Should I merely copy the unzipped contents into the HTDOCS directory?

2. This is also silly, but, ummm, there's nothing there... I guess I don't really understand how this is supposed to work. Can I just insert my own code to integrate it into my own site?

3. When I try to get to the admin panel, I get a message saying that the "mainfile.php" file is writeable. I have tried on my host (through ftp) and on my personal mechine (then uploading via ftp) to change the permissions to "444", but even after applying that, they return to "644". Anyone know why?

4. I understand that there is a "WordPress Module". Seeing that I am obviously not a XOOPS expert, how does this work? I've always liked WP and have used it in the past, so if I could integrate a WP blog into my upcoming XOOPS-Powered site, that would be fantastic.

5. On a similar note, what about using a different forum, say for instance, Simple Machines? Can that be integrated?

Sorry about all the very, VERY n00b questions, but I am ready to dive into XOOPS and would appreciate a push in the right direction. Thanks!

Chris

phppp
Re: 100% Newbie - General Questions...
  • 2008/1/28 1:40

• phppp

• XOOPS Contributor

• Since: 2004/1/25

Most of you questions can be answered via the following documents:
https://xoops.org/misc/docs/Xoops-for-Dummies/

Northern
  • 2008/1/28 2:12

• Northern

• Just can't stay away