Catzwolf
The Future of Module Development
  • 2007/10/28 3:45

• Catzwolf

• Home away from home

• Since: 2007/9/30

As a module developer I am concerned at the lack of any real concern regarding the direction that the council seem to be taking with this area of Xoops. As many of you know I have given many years to XOOPS with my own modules, helping other module developers and creating dev.xoops.org and a module development team. The out come of the later has helped produce many of the modules that some people use daily.

While the current thinking is that this area should be left to the community to run, I personally think this is not the way that module development should be handled.

We have all seen the demise of any real activity in this area over the last few years and it is steadily getting progressively worse and will continue to do so and if we do not act now, the situation may become to vast a gulf to actually be fixed.

Xoops does need a module repository and now it is even more of a need for a developers working area. Very much in the same method that Joomla has for their component and module developers. This platform (if run correctly) would provide valuable resource not only for module developers but for the core as well, as many of you know I believe that core development and module development should work closely together at every possible stage. Mainly due to the fact that both area’s push forward development with new ideas, bug fixes and security issues.

If there is any doubt why we shouldn’t be doing this, then I would say that the current consensus within the community would be the deciding factor. You just need to look around with these forums to see that people are not happy and confused by many issues surrounding the usage of modules.