NavyCS
Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
  • 2007/9/26 13:31

• NavyCS

• Just popping in

• Since: 2007/9/21

I am new to XOOPS and am building one of my domains around this CMS for the first time. I have been reading the forum for the past few days and slowly building my new site - thank you to all the developers for a fine product and the experts who have been answering questions with clear guidance to the various questions posed.

I am going to attempt to condense SEO in a few short paragraphs - I read, test and practice SEO as a hobby - it is ever changing which makes it fun :) So, in a nut shell;

I have seen modules/hacks available to change some of the SEO important on-page aspects but haven't settled on what one to use. The most important on-page SEO component is the Title tag (the title of the page not to be confused with the title attribute, title=""). Though testing I believe the first 3 words of the title tag are the most important, I believe repeating words in the title tag words to "devalue" the word which is repeated in the title. Each page of your site is an individual landing page and should be optimized separately based on the content of the page - your site may be about a broad topic when you consider it in total - each page is about a single piece of the topic (hope that makes sense). That being said, having your site name in every title doesn't do you much good.

Header tags (h1, h2, h3, etc) are also important and should be utilized. Each page should have only a single h1 tag and should be a variant of the title tag, avoid making the h1 and title the same.

I should have listed this first - Keyword research - before creating a page you should make sure you are optimizing your page with keywords/phrases which people are actually searching for! If your a Firefox user I highly recommend the "SEO for Firefox" plug in to assist in your research.