Dave_L
[XoopsTeam] Dave_L - Core Development - Member
  • 2007/6/8 15:50

• Dave_L

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2003/11/7

I've been working with XOOPS since 2003, and have been a software developer since the '70s.

For the past 1-1/2 years, I've been employed full-time by a company at which my job is to develop new XOOPS modules, and modify the core when required, to meet the requirements of the clients. I'm working with both XOOPS 2.2.5-RC2 and XOOPS 2.0.16. In addition to core hacks, I've written 10-12 modules; they haven't been published publicly.

Ideally, I'd like to work on core maintenance/development that fits both my customers needs and the XOOPS project's needs.

If it were up to me, I would first meet with the other developers to define goals, i.e., the team's direction. Then the goals would be translated into specific action items which could be assigned to individuals or small groups. But if the team leader has another approach in mind, I'm open to ideas.

I also think that the development process should be more visible. That is, the developers should communicate primarily in a publicly-readable venue (forum, mailing list, etc.). This would make it possible for additional people to help out, since they would be able to see what's going on and what needs to be done.

Dave Lerner (Dave_L)

JMorris
Re: [XoopsTeam] Dave_L - Core Development - Member
  • 2007/6/8 16:20

• JMorris

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2004/4/11

I cannot speak of your coding skill as I've never worked with you in that capacity. However, I can vouch for your many contributions to the XOOPS community, and they are more than a few.

I feel you would give your very best to the project and I'm glad to see you raise your hand as well.
Insanity can be defined as "doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results."

Stupidity is not a crime. Therefore, you are free to go.

irmtfan
  • 2007/6/8 16:40

• irmtfan

• Module Developer

• Since: 2003/12/7

Thank You Dave,