sergentzimm
module installation issue
  • 2006/11/17 17:58

• sergentzimm

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/11/17

First off, why is there not a section to upload modules in the module area? I have a website that I am helping a friend out with and I am very new to Xoops. I do not have all the information about the site, so I cannot upload anything to it at the moment. I am frustrated that there is a way to upload templates but not modules?? help please

tripmon
Re: module installation issue
  • 2006/11/17 18:31

• tripmon

• Module Developer

• Since: 2004/2/28

There are file transfer modules for xoops, but you will need to upload & install one of them before you can use it ;)

Some web hosts have file transfer applications in their control panel, look there.

Your Best Solution-> Try looking into an FTP client if you are planning on doing much work with -any- web system.

A simple & free one is filezilla (google it).
GL

sergentzimm
  • 2006/11/17 18:54

• sergentzimm

• Just popping in

The problem is that I am locked out of the ftp site, ie I dont know or have a username that works... The owner of the store is clueless about the website, so I am forced to track everything down on my own...

tripmon
  • 2006/11/17 19:04

• tripmon

• Module Developer

• Since: 2004/2/28

Lol
I feel your pain & I'm not trying to rub salt in when I say:
Solution -> Make the 'store owner' get the info you need.

If they (owners) don't even know who is hosting it, you can do a whois search & give him a phone number or e-mail.

Tell him 'You can't make a skyscraper out of popsicle sticks and expect to keep an elephant on the 23rd floor...'

GL

sergentzimm
  • 2006/11/17 20:04

• sergentzimm

• Just popping in

Ok here is the kicker, the domain is registered through Network Solutions, so whois is a joke. I know just enough to be dangerous here, but I can't find out who is the host, just the domain registrar. Basically the Network Solutions page only has stuff about the domain name.