mjmurphy5371
please help me make my site user friendly!

i just wanted it to be a user forum community and its opened a can of worms, for example, people cant load pictures in xcgallery and I also cant seem to figure out how to use it efficiantly.

please visit my site and offer criticism, suggestions, insight, anything!

Im very new to all of this and it was quite the challenge just to get this far...

here is the site www.midwestwakeboarder.com

WarDick
Re: please help me make my site user friendly!
  • 2006/5/4 8:06

• WarDick

• Just can't stay away

• Since: 2003/9/13

On the home page you are confronted with donation requests, a login block, some unrelated ads, and some rather uninteresting pictures.

Logo is hard to read.

Give me a reason to login!

Why donate to a login message.

Let people see what you are all about on the front page.

Grant annonymous access to the forums.

Show some awesome wakeboarding photos.

Make me excited about wakeboarding.

Most importantly you must be patient.

Urging XOOPS to be the Best It Can Be.
Richard......

jensclas

perhaps you will find the docs in the find help docs here thread below useful...

In there you will find an operations guide. That should help you get a clearer idea of what you can do - Jack J's XOOPS for dummies is also useful.

Review: You need to choose a module as your start page if you are using 2.0.13 You do this in your system admin- if it is 2.2.3 or 2.2.4 do a search on setting start pages for these versions.

You need to allocate blocks for unregistered users to see when they arrive on your homepage. Seems to me since I arrived at the ost password page you have made nothing available to an unregistered user...go to your groups settings and let them at least see something and make sure that something is on the front page.

HTH

sinor
  • 2006/5/4 10:50

• sinor

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/1/13

Quote:

WarDick wrote:

Give me a reason to login!

Why donate to a login message.

mjmurphy5371